Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:03 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:17 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1256
OK. I've now replicated this. I think you're running the 32-bit version of cscript from c:\Windows\SysWOW64 rather than the 64-bit version from c:\Windows\System32. If you're just calling cscript without any path then your path search order is different than mine. What do you have in your PATH environment variable?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:02 am
Posts: 32
jpa wrote:
OK. I've now replicated this. I think you're running the 32-bit version of cscript from c:\Windows\SysWOW64 rather than the 64-bit version from c:\Windows\System32. If you're just calling cscript without any path then your path search order is different than mine. What do you have in your PATH environment variable?


Well, I just ran it on my system and checked the path using Process Explorer from Sysinternals and it is using the syswow64 path. (this when running the simple command 'cscript.exe audit_windows.vbs')

Interesting stuff.

I just manually specified the system32 path and it does work, pulling the 64bit info as it should, just as you suggested.

Yeesh, is this stuff fun or what? Thanks a bunch for the help. That'll answer that question. Now I'll just specify c:\windows\system32\cscript.exe specifically, as all machines will have it in that path, and it should function correctly for all machines from that path (whether XP, 7, 32-bit, or 64-bit).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:37 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1256
What you're seeing is not the default behavior which is why we haven't seen this before. Mark could add a check and error out if the script is running under the SysWOW64 32-bit cscript.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 3:38 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:02 am
Posts: 32
jpa wrote:
What you're seeing is not the default behavior which is why we haven't seen this before. Mark could add a check and error out if the script is running under the SysWOW64 32-bit cscript.


Not the default behavior of Windows? Is that what you mean?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:23 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1256
Yes, I don't think 64-bit Windows runs the 32-bit stuff in SysWOW64 by default. I could be wrong.

The audit script could be more robust and handle your situation. Something like this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:50 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:02 am
Posts: 32
Mark wrote:
Quote:
Hopefully not a stupid question, but would this be done at the audit level, or at the server level?

Never a stupid question. This occurs at the server level (when processing the submitted audit).
The audit script should just retrieve details - no formatting or processing logic should be applied at the script level.


I should've asked a while ago, but where would I make this change?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:42 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1256
This change would be major work in the "add a system" related components. You'd need to understand how OpenAudit processes the audit data and adds a system to make this change.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group