Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:35 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 7:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:16 pm
Posts: 7
Hello,

i want to install Oav2 under XAMPP on Windows XP Client but the readme is only for Ubuntu.

Please Help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Put the files from www into htdocs -
zipfile\www -> c:\xampp\htdocs

Put the files in OAv2 into xampp
zipfile\OAv2 -> c:\xampp\OAv2

Check the file c:\xampp\htdocs\index.php for the $system_folder variable.
Ensure it is set as below.
$system_folder = "c:/xampp/OAv2/code_igniter/system";

Go to the \other folder (C:\xampp\OAv2\other) and edit the file audit_windows.vbs
Make sure the variable "url" points to your server.

Copy the file
c:\xampp\OAv2\other\OAv2_mysql.sql -> c:\xampp\mysql\bin

Create the database in Mysql
cd into the c:\xampp\mysql\bin folder.
Run the following -
mysql -u root -pYOURPASSWORD
then run
create database OAv2;
then run
exit;

Back at the dos prompt, run
mysql -u root -pYOURPASSWORD OAv2 < OAv2_mysql.sql

Lastly, check the file
c:\xampp\OAv2\code_igniter\system\application\config\database.php
Make sure the credentials are correct to access the database you just created.

Finally, point your browser at http://OASERVERNAME/ and you should be asked to log in.
Username: admin
Password: password

If you can do that - then it is installed.
Next, get a dos prompt and go to c:\xampp\OAv2\other and run
cscript audit_windows.vbs .

It should run and post the result to the database.
Go back to your web browser and refresh. You should have a group or two created. Go into one of them and click the machine name. You should see the machine details.

To audit your domain, edit the file
c:\xampp\OAv2\other\audit_domain.vbs
Depending on your system's power, you may wish to ajust the "number_of_audits".
I usually use 20.
Make sure the "script_name" points to the correct place -
script_name = "c:\xampp\OAv2\other\audit_windows.vbs"
Make sure the "local_domain" is correct.
Try setting "operating_system" to "Windows" (I think people have had issue's leaving it blank).
Run the script with -
cscript audit_domain.vbs

You should see your domain PCs start to get audited by seperate audit_windows scripts.

Enjoy !!!

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:46 am
Posts: 13
when this manual still actual, why you dont post it under FAQ?

is it actual, then it is very helpful for win user!

cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:35 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
I tried these instructions but I don't seem to get any PC info.

What am I missing?

So I downloaded 8.1 from here - http://www.open-audit.org/downloads.php

Than I unzipped it to C:\xampp.

Then followed most of the instructions from Marks post. I started at -
Go to the \other folder (C:\xampp\OAv2\other) and edit the file audit_windows.vbs
Make sure the variable "url" points to your server.

I then ran the windows audit script as I wanted to test scanning 1 pc and that seemed to scan but I don't see any data on the openaudit page.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:43 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
You need to post more detail on your setup and what you've done.

[quote="cburbs"]Then followed most of the instructions from Marks post. I started at -
You can't skip important stuff like the very first lines of Mark's post.[code]Put the files from www into htdocs -
zipfile\www -> c:\xampp\htdocs[/code]

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:53 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
I only skipped line two as the OAv2 folder already exists.

Setup on Win7 64bit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:03 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
Edit the audit_windows.vbs and set debugging = 2 and then run the audit again from a command prompt and see what the log messages look like.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:13 pm 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
Will give that a try tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Check the php.ini file at /xampp/php/php.ini
You might alter the following variables (I have now done this for the next XAMPP release - 8.2).

max_execution_time = 300
max_input_time = 600
memory_limit = 512M
error_reporting = E_ALL

Those should enable PHP to consume some more resources - you may need to adjust downwards if your machine isn't big enough.
Setting error_reporting should also provide some hints is things don't work.
You can always set it back to
error_reporting = ~E_ALL
in production if you don't want users seeing any nasty messages :D

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:21 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
This is what I get on my 1 test machine -
C:\xampp\OAv2\other>cscript audit_windows.vbs
Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.8
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

starting audit - computer1
Not pinging target, attempting to audit.
My PID is : 4548
Audit Start Time : 2013-01-23 08:16:09
Audit Location: remote
-------------------
system info
windows info
User data for physicalDeliveryOfficeName is:
Windows User:
bios info
scsi info
processor info
memory info
motherboard info
optical info
modem info
video info
monitor info
sound info
disk info
partition info
mount point info
shares info
network card info
network address info
DNS info
printer info
XXX: Microsoft XPS Document Writer
XXX: Interaction Fax Driver
XXX: HP Universal Printing PS
XXX: HP LaserJet 4250 PCL6

Port:
IP:
First attempt to detect if PortName matches an IP address
0 Resulting IP is
IP:
Status: OK
RegKey: Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Print\Printers\HP LaserJet
4250 PCL6\DsDriver\
Colour: 1
Duplex: 0
Printer: HP LaserJet 4250 -- -- -- OK
XXX: Microsoft Shared Fax Driver
scheduled tasks
environment variables
logs
pagefile
local users info
local groups info
Services info
CD Keys
network routing info
Audit Generated in 12 seconds.
Submitting audit online
Audit Submitted



Response
--------
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.or
g/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://computer1/www/favicon.ico" type="imag
e/x-icon" />
<title>Open-AudIT</title>
<style type="text/css">
#container { width: 950px; margin: 0 auto; padding: 10px 0;}
a { color: #101010; text-decoration: none }
a:hover { color: #729FCF; }
body { font-family:"Verdana","Lucida Sans Unicode","Lucida Sans",Sans-Se
rif; background: #dcd2bd; font-size:12px; color:#111;}
h2 { border-color:#DBD9C5; border-style:solid; border-width:0pt 0pt 1px;
color:#555555; font-size:22px; font-weight:bold; padding:0px 0px 1px; }
img {border:0;}
</style>
</head>
<body onload="document.myform.username.focus();">
<div id="header" style='height: 200px; width: 950px; margin-left: auto; margin-r
ight: auto; padding: 20px; border: 10px;' align='left'>
<form action="http://testserver/www/index.php/login/process_l
ogin" method="post" accept-charset="utf-8" name="myform"><div style="display:non
e">
<input type="hidden" name="page" value="system" />
<input type="hidden" name="function" value="add_system" />
<input type="hidden" name="id" value="0" />
</div>
<div align='left' style="width:600px; float: left; valig
n: center;">
<img src='http://testserver/www/theme-tango/t
ango-images/logo.png' alt='logo' border='0' /><br />&nbsp;
</div>
<div align='right' style="height: 100px; width:300px; fl
oat: right; text-align: center;">
<p><label for="username">Username: </label><input type="
text" name="username" value="" id="username" /></p>
<p><label for="password">Password: </label><input type="
password" name="password" value="" id="password" /></p>
<p><input type="submit" name="login" value="Login" /><b
r />&nbsp;</p>
</div>
</form> <br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />No systems, groups or report
s are in the database.<br />Initial credentials are admin / password.<br />Pleas
e log in and change these ASAP.<br />Please also check the "test user".<br />
</div>
</body>
</html>

Total Execution Time: 13 seconds.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:26 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
Download the [url=http://www.open-audit.org/downloads.php]latest Open Audit[/url] beta 8.2 and it should work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:49 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
Ok so that gives me a folder with

code_igniter
Other
WWW
agpl-3.0
install_ubuntu
install_windows

Do I just put all these files in the current OAv2 folder?

So I copied the www folder to c:\xampp\htdocs
the rest I copied over to c:\xampp\OAv2

Test ran worked at the moment - Did I miss anything?

Also is there a way to run a scan from a list of PCs in a text file?

I see audit_list_windows.vbs but you have to enter them all in there. If I recall when I ran this back in 2009 I could do that but I don't recall how.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
That should be it other than configuring the audit scripts in the other directory for your systems. You should also log on to the web interface and select the Upgrade link in the upper right and then the link to upgrade the database.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:58 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 am
Posts: 12
Should be Ok with that.
I tend to copy the whole lot to the OAv2 folder, and then copy www to htdocs.
That works for me.
help->about and then upgrade your DB if required.
My test system seems to audit Ok at beta 8.2
I haven't upgraded a live system yet.
Rgds


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:00 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:38 am
Posts: 116
Location: Midwest
upgraded DB - went OK

Now just trying to figure out how to scan from a text file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group