Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:04 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: OAv2 on Windows Server
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 5:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
Hi All

I'm trying to install OAv2 on Windows server 2003 with IIS, but I always receive a blank page with error 404 or 500

I modify the index page in this way
[code]$system_folder = "C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/OAv2/code_igniter/system";[/code]
should I use the / right? because windows for the path use the \

I also modify the config file, as I understand the $config['base_url'] should be the CodeIgniter root, in my case:
[code]$config['base_url'] = 'http://localhost/OAv2/';[/code]
But I don't know if is localhost or the DNS name of the server.

With this configuration I have always a blank page.... any suggestions?
There is a documentation to install OAv2 on Windows server with IIS?

Thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 1:27 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
It would probably be easier to use Mark's XAMPP version of OAv2 unless you're set on using IIS.

From an earlier post by Mark:

[quote]Or you can grab OAv2 (including an XAMPP set all done and ready to go on Windows).
Use beta3, get it working then upgrade to beat4/5.
Beta 4/5 do not include an option for XAMPP already done for you, hence why I suggest beta3.

[url]https://launchpad.net/oav2/trunk/beta3/+download/OAv2_beta3_with_xampplite.zip[/url].


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 1:48 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
Ciao jpa

I prefer to use IIS, in this server is already running the old version of openaudit and I want to test the new one.
Nodoby has tested it on IIS?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 3:32 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I haven't tested on IIS but I'd expect it to work.

You need to put the contents of the OpenAudit/www directory in C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/OAv2 to access OA at http://<OAServerName>/OAv2/. I think the code_igniter directory needs to go somewhere accessible to the process running IIS. There are a lot of ways you could set this up but I can't help much beyond this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
is exactly what I did ...
it is right that the variable $system_folder uses the / instead of \ using paths in windows?
I passed other files but can not find anything that could be useful...
unfortunately not familiar with php and I can not understand what the index.php page do to show the first page :S


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I've not tried it on IIS yet, but as JPA says, if you have a working IIS + PHP, it should work fine.
Use / for slashes.

Put the contents of the www folder into c:\inpetpub\wwwroot
Edit index.php to point to where ever you put the rest of the download - maybe
"c:/program files/OAv2/code_igniter/system"
And it should just work.
I'll see if I can try it on IIS today, but don't hold me to it :D

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:44 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
Hello Mark
I did what I wrote in the first post, i put the all the code inside the folder C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/OAv2 because directly under wwwroot is running the old OA version.
If I use this subfolder I should modify also the config file?
[code]$config['base_url'] = 'http://localhost/OAv2/';[/code]
This code is right?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:47 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I don't think you need to edit $config['base_url'] as there is code to determine it dynamically.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
[code]$config['base_url'] = 'http://localhost/OAv2/';[/code]
As JPA says - should not need to be set and further - if you do set it like that, you won't be able to access it from any PC other than the one it's running on.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:51 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
Instead of localhost I should write the hostname of the server, right?
tomorrow I will try do to what you did and I let you know!

Thanks a lot :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
You should not alter the contents of system\application\config.php. Not even a little.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 7:34 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I've done a super quick install of OpenAudit on Win2003 IIS. Seems to work but not tested extensively.

I would create a test.php file with the following in your c:/Inetpub/www/oav2 directory and try to access it with http://servername/oav2/test.php.
[code]<?php
phpinfo();
?>[/code]

If you can't get the phpinfo stuff to come up then you haven't configured your IIS + PHP combination correctly and you'll need to fix that before worrying about OpenAudit. Search the web for help with your specific versions of PHP and IIS. The config is different when using ISAPI, CGI, FastCGI, etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 5:29 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 7:08 am
Posts: 6
Hello jpa

PHP works correctly, I already did this test, and the old openaudit version works without problems.
I did the change that you told me now the page is automatically redirect to this page
http://servername/OAv2/index.php/login/index

but is not working :'(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 1:10 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
Now that you've got that far check your PHP error logs to see if there is any indication of a problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:13 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
[quote]PHP works correctly, I already did this test, and the old openaudit version works without problems.
I did the change that you told me now the page is automatically redirect to this page
http://servername/OAv2/index.php/login/index


So it is working then (maybe just not working perfectly). If you get this, then index.php is being called, it's checking that you are logged in (which you are not), then it's redirecting you to the login page. This is correct. What do you get on screen? Have you checked your IIS and PHP error logs?

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group