Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:27 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I can't audit linux
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:52 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:23 pm
Posts: 2
i have installed "open audit" on a machine with linux (ubuntu 9.04), for use i entered "http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/oa", then walk into administration, I choose the option to audit my computer and download a script for windows, which works fine on Windows machines.
The problem is with Linux machines, i entered "http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/oa/scripts" and download the file "audit_linux.sh" then I go to console, I give the necessary permits and issued the command
"sh audit_linux.sh"
and I get a manual of options I have to apply but i don't know how to use, and end of the manual I get:
audit_linux: 51: OA_Audit_Log: not found
audit_linux: 98: Syntax error: word unexpected (expecting "in")
i don't know if there are errors at some point in the script.
if someone could give me the code that should run for this script work like the windows would be very grateful


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I can't audit linux
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:27 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:08 am
Posts: 6
Just a guess here, that's a bash script.

Instead of: sh audit_linux.sh
try: bash audit_linux.sh


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I can't audit linux
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:32 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:08 am
Posts: 6
Just tried audit_linux.sh out of SVN:
http://open-audit.svn.sourceforge.net/v ... xt%2Fplain

on Ubuntu 10.04:
$ sudo bash audit_linux.sh -L -o off

dumps out a text file with a whole bunch of fun in it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I can't audit linux
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
It is indeed a bash script, (The shebang at the start #!/bin/bash gives that away for those in the know). You sill also need lspci, installed on the box lshw is a good idea too, and from memory, any other missing needs are repoted by the script.

I have used the script, and despite the fact that it is a work in progress, the results are good.

One thing, the disk stats need a bit more work, as for me at least, they produce meaningless results. I haven't had time to sit down and fix this yet, but if you have the time, let me know what you discover and I will post any changes back to the SVN.

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I can't audit linux
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:51 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:23 pm
Posts: 2
barry thank you very much with your code the scripts runs very good , but not if the script may automatically send data to the open audit database, when I add it from txt I have one problem, all data are not recorded, for example the number ip of the machine audited


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group