Open-AudIT
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/

Open-AudIT Stand Alone
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2342
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Russell.johnson [ Mon Sep 03, 2007 9:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Open-AudIT Stand Alone

I don't have a server avalable to run the Open-Audit Server.
Can you tell me where to locate the Open-AudIT Stand Alone?

Thanks

Author:  mikeyrb [ Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

I'm not sure what you mean by stand alone. By no means do you need a dedicated server to run it. You can take any machine you have and install a webserver and a MySQL database. Easiest can be to take a windows machine and install XAMPP or you can install Apache, PHP, and MySQL on your own. It will run on IIS too, so it can be located on, for example, your intranet, if you have one running already. You can also split up the web server and the database if you need to, though that'd only be the case if you had a dedicated database server. It really takes minimal resources.

Author:  Russell.johnson [ Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

My mistake.

I was referring to the "Open-AudIT Stand Alone" referred to on the Open-Audit home page "http://www.open-audit.org/"

The bottom of the page says:
"The Stand Alone Open-AudIT scripts enable you to quickly audit individual workstations and servers, and provide a ready to print report. "

The "learn more" link does not seem to go anywhere.

My apologies for the misunderstanding.

Author:  mikeyrb [ Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

Yeah, that does seem misleading...

Author:  Mark [ Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

My fault [puts hand up].
I simply haven't had the time to finish the web pages.
Basically, the "stand-alone" script is an audit.vbs, with the audit.config inserted, that only prints. It doesn't submit to any server.
Easy to do yourself - download the .svn code for audit.vbs and audit.config.
Insert the audit.config code into audit.vbs.
Remove the 3 lines that look like this:
Code:
' Below calls the file audit_include.vbs to setup the variables.

sScriptPath=Left(WScript.ScriptFullName, InStrRev(WScript.ScriptFullName,"\"))

ExecuteGlobal CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject").OpenTextFile(sScriptPath & "audit.config").ReadAll


Set the 'online' variable to 'p' - online='p'
You should be good to go.
The actual script will have a lot of unnessecary stuff cut out, but you should get an idea.

Again, my apologies.
Mark.

Author:  miguelgonz [ Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

I have tried following your instructions and when I run the script I get an error:

Line:295
Char:3
Error: Table does not exist
Code: 80040E37
Source: provider

Attachments:
openaudit.jpg
openaudit.jpg [ 13.91 KiB | Viewed 8837 times ]

Author:  infomate [ Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

I tried the same procedure above and it doesn't work too. (same error)

I renamed the new file "auditlocal.vbs" just to differentiate it from the original "audit.vbs".
My idea is to be able to run it under the Admin Menu - "Audit my Machine" by replacing scripts/audit.vbs to scripts/auditlocal.vbs.

This way an auditor can run/initiate an audit of the local machine manually by choosing the the Admin then Audit my Machine from the left-column menu.

I can run a local machine audit by downloading both "audit.vbs" and "audit.config" to my local machine and running c:\cscript audit.vbs. It would be neat to audit a local machine without actually downloading/saving something using just a single click from the web menu.

Is this possible?

Robert

Author:  A_Hull [ Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

If we could complete the idea detailed here viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2569#p11518 (and elsewhere) then there would be no need for you to ever download the config.

Furthermore you could add an Audit this machine button very easily.

Let me know what you think... (even if the answer is "keep the noise down, it'll never work" :twisted: )

Author:  infomate [ Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

The idea of creating different config files for different subnets or networks seem to the right way to go. Let us know as soon as its available....

More power

Robert

Author:  mark5115 [ Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

Did anyone get anywhere with the single audit? I too get the same error message as above when trying a single audit. The domain audit works great, and the idea listed in the topic thread above sounds fantastic.

Keep up the great work!

Author:  Mohammed [ Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

Can anyone tell me if this would work on CENTOS OPERATING SYSTEMS IN LINUX . COULD YOU ALSO POST ME THE WEBSITE THANKS :( :) :) :D

Author:  Mark [ Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

This should work fine...

http://www.open-audit.org/audit_fedora.sh

Author:  kientzj [ Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

I tried to follow the instructions in your thread for creating a stand-alone audit script for Windows. The three lines you instructed us to remove were already commented out in audit.vbs. I have included the audit.vbs file if you have time to look at it. It's probably a simple fix, but you know the code and I don't. The error is on line 395 - Table does not exist. If you could fix my file and post it on the website as the Windows Stand-alone script, that would be awesome. Thanks!

Attachments:
File comment: Change extension to vbs to use.
audit.txt [207.56 KiB]
Downloaded 364 times

Author:  JET [ Wed Oct 21, 2009 6:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

Thought I'd give the Stand Alone Audit a shot. It worked for me with the audit.txt file that kientzj posted and this audit.config file in a directory by themselves.

Attachments:
File comment: Remove .txt before use.
audit.config.txt [2.23 KiB]
Downloaded 401 times

Author:  dwg [ Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Open-AudIT Stand Alone

JET wrote:
Thought I'd give the Stand Alone Audit a shot. It worked for me with the audit.txt file that kientzj posted and this audit.config file in a directory by themselves.


This worked great! Thanks for posting. A question... the report this creates is quite abbreviated, although looks nice and clean and grabs the most important items. Is there something simple that can be done to make it more verbose?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/