Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:48 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 9:19 pm
Posts: 16
Hi,

In order to try and keep track of machines, and in particular which ones are being used and which are spare/under repair or only occasionally used, I often change the status to 'Maintenance' or 'Retired'. However I have noticed that when a machine is then back on the network and gets audited, OA seems to create a new entry for that machine rather than updating the old entry. As a result, with some machines regularly changing status, I now seem to have multiple listings for the same machines.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I be doing something else to seperate these machines - using some other field or category for instance?

I'd really like to permanently delete these duplicate entries from the database (not just mark them as deleted). Is there any way I can do that?

Cheers,
Mark


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:31 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
It looks like OpenAudit ignores anything which isn't Production when looking to see if a system is already in the database. You'll need to use a different field and custom queries to separate your target machines.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
JPA is correct.
I haven't really expanded on the "status" field other than that. It's very binary - production or not production.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 9:19 pm
Posts: 16
OK thanks, I was afraid it might be something like that. I'll look to use another field and custom query as suggested.

Being a bit OCD, is there any way I can delete the duplicates from the database, rather than just hiding them? Some kind of query I can run on myphpadmin or something?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:30 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Yes, but I couldn't find anything in the documentation. I didn't look that hard.

You can use these functions:
Code:
There are two functions for this that are not made available in the menus.
SERVER/index.php/admin_db/get_non_production_systems
SERVER/index.php/admin_db/delete_non_production_systems


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 9:19 pm
Posts: 16
That looks perfect - I shall give it a go, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Set status to non production. Then go to menu - Admin - Database - Maintenance. Can delete them in there.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:14 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
I've been using OpenAudit for quite a while and Mark keeps slipping in new stuff while I'm giving out ancient advice. I should review stuff a bit more when he drops a new version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:24 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I do post Release Notes for each version on the wiki.
Not absolutely everything makes it in there though, mainly the major items.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group