Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:38 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Well, beta8 is (finally) done.

NOTE: If upgrading from an earlier version, when you copy the PHP pages, you MUST replace index.php in your web root. I would also suggest copying the theme-tango and device_images directories over as well.

Change Log:
- Migrated to CodeIgniter 2 (hence the index.php change requirement above).
- There are DB changes - make sure to run Help -> About from the menu.
- There is now a limited number of predefined "other devices" you can add (phones, switches, routers, etc). This is not finished, but it is working. In the next release you will be able to make your own "other device" definitions. I will also supply an assortment of predefined device definitions. Go to Admin -> Devices -> Add a device (manually)
- Attachments per device can be stored. Go to a system display page and in the Summary menu section (on the left) you will see an item for Attachments.
- There is a Configuration page under Admin -> Config. You can alter values by clicking on them when they are blue. If they are not blue, they are not changable.
- Option to enable/disable Searching for non-Administrators (see above Config page).
- Removed the incomplete "Change" pages.
- an XAMPP version is available. Just extract to C:\ on your Windows machine and run xampp-control.exe. Start Apache and MySQL and you're good to go. Scripts are in c:\xampp\OAv2\other

NOTES
- You may need to increase the allocated memory to PHP. Check your php.ini file and look for memory_limit. You may also want to increase your execution time - look for max_execution_time.
- If you receive an error such "", then check the file permissions on code_igniter/application/views/lang/en.inc - they can be set to 777 (Linux) or read all (Windows) and it will be fine. It's just the English translation file.

Get it at http://www.open-audit.org/downloads.php

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:12 am
Posts: 30
Thanks, upgraded on Friday. It works just great no problems; upgrading the database worked without a hitch. :D

As you have suggested I had to allocate additional memory, found the problem whilst trying to use the backup database feature. I allocated 1024M up from the default of 128M, may be a little overkill but my VM has this spare so I thought why not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:34 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Some troubles here. To upgrade I removed all files and updated with the latest but kept my existing beta 7 database.

First I have MySQL strict mode enabled and I'd say Mark does not. I think this is the default MySQL mode in any relatively recent MySQL install. I received the following error on going to the main OA page:
Code:
Error Number: 1364

Field 'user_data' doesn't have a default value

INSERT INTO `oa_user_sessions` (`session_id`, `ip_address`, `user_agent`, `last_activity`) VALUES ('42c35d0db401939041e5b64447328000', '192.168.0.13', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:17.0) Gecko/201001', 1358786469)

Filename: C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\var\www\openaudit2\code_igniter\system\database\DB_driver.php

Line Number: 330
CI does have a stricton database config setting but setting it to false does nothing. I added the following to my application\config\database.php file:
Code:
$db['default']['stricton'] = FALSE;
and then inserted this to system\database\DB.php at line 156:
Code:
   if (isset($params['stricton']) && $params['stricton'] == FALSE)
   {
      $DB->query('SET SESSION sql_mode=""');
   }
These changes allowed the main OA logon page to display. I logged on as the admin and got a bunch of these errors in the main OA page which went away after upgrading the database.
Code:
Error after getting past error above. When away after running database update.

Groups
3 results
A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined variable: non_admin_search

Filename: theme-tango/v_main.php

Line Number: 11

I then tried to view the Admin\config in Firefox 17.0.1 and got a mostly empty screen. Looked like this:
Attachment:
OA2b8_ConfigError1.png
OA2b8_ConfigError1.png [ 23.81 KiB | Viewed 3800 times ]

But then I saw that if I scrolled right I'd see this:
Attachment:
OA2b8_ConfigError2.png
OA2b8_ConfigError2.png [ 22.75 KiB | Viewed 3800 times ]

I haven't tried Firefox 18.0.1 yet.

The edit page displays as expected in IE 9 and Chrome 24.0.1312.52.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I'll take a look at the MySQL strict stuff.
Stupid Firefox - I'll just have to insert some <br /> tags...

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:19 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
I also can't post data because the system add page is requiring authentication. I browse to "http://openaudit2/index.php/system" and get redirected to "http://openaudit2/index.php/login/index". Not sure what I may have done to cause this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:39 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 am
Posts: 12
Yep, I'm getting the same as you. We must have done the same. The system adds OK pasting the XML via a manual add.
I Installed the xampp version as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Moving to CodeIgniter 2 caused this - well, my idiocy but hey...
Make line 10 in controllers/system.php look like this.
class System extends CI_Controller {

It should have extended CI_Controller because MY_Controller forces you to login.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Beta 8.1 released.
Fixes issues as raised above.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Now I have a different issue. When posting the audit I get a blank page and the php error log shows "request failed: URI too long (longer than 8190)"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Using 8.1?
Can you re-download 8.1 and test again?
I goofed the first time I uploaded it... sorry.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:45 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Downloaded again and it is working now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:18 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 am
Posts: 12
8.1 not working for me on windows XAMPP.

error in index.php
in system folder name section it says

# windows
$application_folder = 'c:/xampp/oav2/code_igniter/system';
but should really say

# windows
$system_path = 'c:/xampp/oav2/code_igniter/system';

seems to work and audit goes in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:53 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:43 am
Posts: 13
I have tried to create my own report and got an error message during the import. After testing several things I decided to grab on of the existing XML reports, changed the "report name" field and imported it again. But the error message still appears. Could it be that the import function isn't working anymore?

Thanks for checking,
Denis


Attachments:
File comment: This is the error message when I try to import a XML report
open-audit-error.jpg
open-audit-error.jpg [ 47.05 KiB | Viewed 3655 times ]

_________________
You are running version beta9.2 of OAv2.
Your database platform is mysql (version 5.1.66).
Your web server is Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) .

Mixed environment (Physical&Virtual):
~200x Windows, ~50x Linux, ~30x VMware hosts
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Beta8 is great!
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
It's s imple two line fix - but it's a major bug.
Beta8.3 uploaded :D
I haven't even bothered updating the version number, so it will still show beta8.2 in the app.
Quick and dirty :lol:

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group