Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:37 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 2:22 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 36
I was wondering if someone have got some documentation how to install OAV2 step by step.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 7:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
The following is in the readme.txt file in the download package.


[quote]How to install OAv2.

1 - Extract the archive to /usr/ (under Ubuntu).
2 - Move the contents of www folder to your root web folder (/var/www under Ubuntu).
3 - Edit the file /var/www/index.php. Line 27/28. Adjust to suit (as per step 1).
4 - in the /usr/OAv2/other folder, run the following command (under Ubuntu)
mysql -u root -p
{enter password}
create database OAv2;
exit;
mysql -u root -p OAv2 < OAv2_mysql.sql
{enter password}
5 - Check file permissions (still to clarify). Easy to just run "sudo chmod -R 777 /usr/OAv2/"
6 - Alter the settings to connect to the database in /usr/OAv2/code_igniter/system/application/config/database.php
7 - Point your web browser to http://YOURSERVER/index.php
8 - Logon with Username: Admin, Password: password
9 - Change password by going to Admin -> List Users -> Edit User

NOTES
You can enable Firebug debugging by setting $config['fireignition_enabled'] = TRUE;
in the file /usr/OAv2/code_igniter/system/application/config/fireignition
This will slow down response, mainly on the "system insert" page - other pages are not affected too much.

You can insert some dummy data by running http://YOURSERVER/index.php/insert_bulk
This will insert 30 systems with minimal data (mainly the system and network details).
Check the /usr/OAv2/code_igniter/system/application/controllers/insert_bulk.php file for altering.


Or you can just download beta3 which includes an XAMPP install. Just extract it to your c: drive, run the control panel .exe, start Apache and MySQL and you're done.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2012 11:29 pm 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:28 am
Posts: 83
I would continue:

List of required PHP packages (taken from Debian Squeeze (warning: I still have trouble))
[code]ii libapache2-mod-php5 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 server-side, HTML-embedded scripting language (Apache 2 module)
ii php5-cli 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 command-line interpreter for the php5 scripting language
ii php5-common 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 Common files for packages built from the php5 source
ii php5-gd 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 GD module for php5
ii php5-ldap 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 LDAP module for php5
ii php5-mysql 5.3.3-7+squeeze3 MySQL module for php5
ii php5-suhosin 0.9.32.1-1 advanced protection module for php5[/code]


Edit /etc/php5/apache2/php.ini based on Open-AudIT_v2.0/other/php.ini


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Thanks 4077 - have altered the first post with chmod -R.
Also, I generally use Ubuntu server and am lazy - hence I run:
sudo apt-get install tasksel
Run "sudo tasksel" and select Lamp Server and you're done :D

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 11:22 pm 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:28 am
Posts: 83
Database permissions seems to also require

GRANT DELETE ON OAv2.oa_user_sessions to 'oa2'@'localhost';

Before the error that prompted me to give the above permisison I had

GRANT CREATE VIEW,SHOW VIEW,UPDATE ON OAv2.* to 'oa2'@'localhost';
GRANT CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES ON OAv2.* to 'oa2'@'localhost';
GRANT INSERT ON OAv2.* to 'oa2'@'localhost';
GRANT SELECT ON OAv2.* to 'oa2'@'localhost';


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 11:31 pm 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:28 am
Posts: 83
using index.php/insert_bulk seems to require further SQL permissions. Could we get an official list of those that are needed?

Fixed it with mysql> GRANT DELETE ON OAv2.* to 'oa2'@'localhost';


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 1:16 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
You'll also need various structure permissions as OpenAudit can add, drop, alter, etc. tables when upgrading to newer versions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
[quote]using index.php/insert_bulk seems to require further SQL permissions.

To be honest, I haven't used nor updated this code in AGES. I'd suggest just running the actual audit script...

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:27 pm 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:28 am
Posts: 83
[quote="Mark"][quote]using index.php/insert_bulk seems to require further SQL permissions.

To be honest, I haven't used nor updated this code in AGES. I'd suggest just running the actual audit script...
That was what I did to find out it required "grant delete" as well.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 36
Hello everyone,

Finelly I had my Friend to install OAv2 on Centos machine. but the configuration part is not done yet. All I need to do is to make this open audit to work with my network but I am Kinda confuse, where to start and how to start. PLease Help me here I would really appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
So, assuming you have read the reply above and have the dependencies installed, what is not working?
Can you go to your webserver and see the Open-AudIT web page?
Have you run the audit script on a Windows machine (after setting the URL variable)?
What doesn't work?

_________________
Support and Development hours available from [url=https://opmantek.com]Opmantek[/url].
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:11 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 36
I have downlaoded windows scrip for beta3 I run it in a XP machine but nothing is showing up in OPen audit which means it didn't audit anything. How do I check URL WEB Variables?

Thank you,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:36 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 36
This script run after a while it generates a txt file. when I apload the text file on open-audit it is now showing only one machine that I run Script on.

Also I am not able to see all the details on a audited machine like Keys, Shares, ETC. am I missing anything here? please help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:51 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
Make sure you have reviewed the settings at the top of the audit script for what you want it to do. Some of the script versions have settings that are better suited for development than production use.

You want:
[code]
submit_online = "y"
skip_software = "n"
create_file = "n"
[/code]
The create_file option can be "y" but it will clutter your directory with audit files.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Documentation.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:43 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:58 am
Posts: 36
The script runs with Error but it doesn't audit anything? how do make this script to audit all my system. should I run it through GPO? Or if i run this in my domain controller is going to audit all the system?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group