Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:07 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2013 7:16 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
Hi Mark,
Thanks for your quick response and apologies for my tardy reply. It was my birthday that weekend and I have just about recovered now ;-)
Attached is the script we are currently running that seems to be hitting the SQL issue.
Cheers
Leigh


EDIT - Script removed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 1:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:50 am
Posts: 3
is there any command or switch to disable all the echo's. i am using debug = o but i still get echo of the sql service or something

Code:
      case "mssql$sqlexpress"
         en_sql_express = "y"
         en_sql_server_state = objItem.State
         wscript.echo service_name


are those echo needed.

i am running it at logon and want it to be silent and as invisible as possible

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 2:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
octavius wrote:
are those echo needed.

No, I'll remove them ASAP.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2013 2:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
octavius wrote:
Attached is the script we are currently running that seems to be hitting the SQL issue.

Line 4068 in that file is in the IIS section, not the SQL section.
I've put a test in to make sure the variable in question is an array. Attached is the updated script - please test.

EDIT - script removed.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 2:05 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I don't think a public facing OA is such a good idea. Might want to remove the script archives as they include the url.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
As we now have a new and current audit_windows.vbs in v1.0.2, I am removing this post as a "sticky".

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:58 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:36 pm
Posts: 7
Hi,
I hope this is the right place to write; I've found a problem in the script, this is present also in the script provided with the last release.

On lines 470 and 6034 when the script opens the file:

Code:
set objTS = objFSO.OpenTextFile(OutputFile, FOR_APPENDING, True)


it could be convenient to open it as UTF-8

Code:
set objTS = objFSO.OpenTextFile(OutputFile, FOR_APPENDING, True, True)


I had to change because in many computer of my network there are description strings that uses the UTF-8.
This causes error when the script tries to write on the file: Error 5, invalid procdure call

Best regards,
Francesco


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
This should be fixed in the next version.

FYI: After looking this over the file is actually created as "UCS-2 Little Endian" and not UTF-8. If you use "1" instead of True (-1) then the file is created as "UTF-8 without BOM" but you still get the "Invalid procedure call error".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:39 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I made some changes to our proposed fix that should work better by outputting proper UTF-8 while using less memory (hopefully).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:36 pm
Posts: 7
:oops:

I'm sorry, I missed your patch...

Now I'm going to try your're new audit script...

Thanks,
francesco


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:51 am
Posts: 17
I don't know if it's useful to anyone, but I dropped this into the script so I get the host name from the system...

Set wshShell = WScript.CreateObject( "WScript.Shell" )
strComputer = wshShell.ExpandEnvironmentStrings( "%COMPUTERNAME%" )


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:24 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1259
I don't know if that's such a good idea without changing the script further. strcomputer is set to "." early on and then overridden by command line options after that. There are tests later in the code for strcomputer="." which causes different behavior than what you'll get by setting strcomputer to the hostname.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group