Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:45 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:08 pm
Posts: 37
Just been asked to audit al browser version on the domain and I'm seeing something odd.

I've chrome v18.x installed yet it's not showing up in the audit log for my machine.
Additionally, when I check the software installed report that shows hundreds of Google Chrome installs but shows v15.x

Is anyone else seeing this behaviour before I start pulling at things or is it just me?

_________________
OA environment:
OA Server: Virtual Linux KVM

1539 devices


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
OpenAudit doesn't audit per-user installed software. Perhaps your Chrome is installed this way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:26 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Brisbane, Australia
If your software shows up in add/remove programs, it shoudl show in Open-AudIT.
If it's something like a portable app (http://www.portableapps.com) then there is no actuall installation, nor a record in the registry - it will not appear in Open-AudIT. Short of scanning your entire filesystem and knowing what every .exe does, etc, there is no easy way to accomplish detection of all non-installed applications.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:08 pm
Posts: 37
very odd. It's definitely in add/remove programs which is why I was expecting it to show up in the audit logs. I had wondered if it was because software auditing wasn't (I didn't think) finished but then everything else I've looked for seems to be there.

Further testing reveals the following:

Many installs on the domain for Internet Explorer - 7.0.5730.11

My Win7 machine had Internet Explorer - 8.x but after installing IE 9 (Internet Explorer - 9.0.8112.16421) this does not show up anywhere in OA as having been installed after a successful audit other than when I specifically look at my machine.

OA *appears* to be bundling my version 9 into the reports for v8. I checked by doing:

Listing all Win7 systems (as xp can't install IE9)
Running the installed software report
Searching for Internet Explorer which showed this: Internet Explorer - 8.0.7600.16385

Now, when I select this application I get a list of all the systems and sort by version I can see 8, 8.0.x which is what I'd expect but it also shows 37 installs for IE9. Version 9.0.8112.16421

At some point Mark could you separate these out?

Typical that I start with one Chrome problem and now have an IE problem as well :roll:

_________________
OA environment:
OA Server: Virtual Linux KVM

1539 devices


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:55 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Mark wrote:
If your software shows up in add/remove programs, it shoudl show in Open-AudIT.
Unfortunately, I'm pretty sure this isn't true.

OA audits the HKLM version of "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall" and not the HKCU which is where the Chrome install info lives as it's installed per-user.

Log on to the machine as a different user (that doesn't have Chrome installed) and the Chrome stuff will disappear from Add-Remove Programs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:46 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
MarkD wrote:
Running the installed software report

The "Installed Software" report groups by package name and I guess if multiple versions are installed picks the version number to display based on the first one it sees from the data returned by MySQL. It does this for all software, not just Internet Explorer, so this report isn't a great way to see if you're up to date for a given software package.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Quote:
The "Installed Software" report groups by package name

Yes, so if you then click on the text "Internet Explorer" it should should show a list of PCs and the individual versions of IE that are installed.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Quote:
and not the HKCU which is where the Chrome install info lives as it's installed per-user.

Ahh yes - my apologies. I didn't realise it could be installed like that... I will not be enumerating all possible user installs as OAv2 is designed around the MACHINE, not the user. Hence no mapped drives show up, etc, etc.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:48 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Mark wrote:
Quote:
The "Installed Software" report groups by package name

Yes, so if you then click on the text "Internet Explorer" it should should show a list of PCs and the individual versions of IE that are installed.

Cool, that's useful. Although I think that's not implemented yet in my version of OA (b4). I get a blank page when clicking on the link which looks like this: "http://openaudit2/index.php//report/specific_software/1/3498". When looking in the controllers\report.php file I don't see a specific_software function which from my terrible understanding of the code should be there for this to work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Go to admin-list reports. Make sure there is a report called "specific software" that is activated.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:11 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Found it. Told you I have a terrible understanding of OAv2. :oops:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:45 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:08 pm
Posts: 37
haha not as bad as mine it seems. Thanks guys for the info. I bare it in mind when I'm running audits etc. in the future. Today wasn't wasted, I learnt something new. :D

_________________
OA environment:
OA Server: Virtual Linux KVM

1539 devices


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group