Open-AudIT
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/

New audit windows script
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=5728
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Mark [ Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:45 am ]
Post subject:  New audit windows script

I have uploaded a new "audit_windows.vbs" to the beta 1.1 download page.
Changes include.
org_id able to be set on the command line. If you set this, when the system is submitted, it should automagically set the "man_org_id" on the system. NOTE - It will need a new copy of the file m_system.php which I haven't yet uploaded.

Further monitor manufacturer identification.
I try to account for the returned manufacturer being not relevant (ie - "standard monitor types), by checking this and then checking the model. If a certain model is discovered, we can correctly set the manufacturer. NOTE - if you are seeing returned results with "standard monitor type" set, but the correct model number, please send me the model number and the manufacturer. I can then (manually) account for these in the audit script.

Mount Points are disabled by default. You can enable them by adding skip_mount_point=n on the command line (or changing the default value at the start of the script). NOTE - this also applies to Printers.

Hopefully that will sort out the remaining issue's.

I'll create Beta 1.2 soon (with incorporated OrgID stuff and more).

Author:  JayDee [ Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New audit windows script

Mark,
Ran the new audit_windows.vbs on my Win7 Pro test machine and the "skip_mount_point=y" setting. Ran fine, only shows C: drive but this is an old re-installed machine so I wasn't expecting much. The C: drive did show an interesting serial number though:
MAXTOR 6L040J2 ATA Device
Size: 38,177 MiB
Interface: IDE
Model: MAXTOR 6L040J2 ATA Device
Serial: 3636323230303432363937392020202020202020
which looks more hex than anything else :)
And on the monitor front it was recognized but displayed as:

Manufacturer: @oem7.inf,%acer%;Acer Incorporated
Model: Acer S202HL
Manufacturer Date: 12/2010
Description:
Serial: LR4080114210

(with those "%" signs in the Manufacturer line).
The icon at the right also didn't display (not surprisingly) but didn't default to a generic one

<img width="100" title="" alt="" src="http://SERVERNAME/OAv2/device_images/acer_s202hl.jpg" style="border: 1px solid rgb(219, 217, 197);">

John

Author:  gareth [ Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: New audit windows script

Mark,

One minor issue I've come across is that when auditing a Windows 7 machine the "Last Logged on User" is the last local user to log on rather than the last domain user.

Script works fine for Windows XP & Vista.

Now I've got my machines auditing I have to say OAv2 is looking very promising :D

Cheers,
Gareth

Author:  jpa [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: New audit windows script

[quote="gareth"]One minor issue I've come across is that when auditing a Windows 7 machine the "Last Logged on User" is the last local user to log on rather than the last domain user.

I'm not seeing this. However, while looking at the audit_windows.vbs code for last logged on user I see this code which is wrong but still works.
[code] oreg.getstringvalue hkey_local_machine, "software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\authentication\logonui", "lastloggedonuser", windows_user_name
if isnull(windows_user_name) then
oreg.getstringvalue hkey_local_machine, "software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\authentication\logonui", "lastloggedonsamuser", windows_user_name
if isnull(windows_user_name) then
windows_user_name = ""
end if
else
if len(net_domain) > 0 then
lcase(windows_user_name = windows_user_name & windows_user_domain)
end if
end if[/code]

If lastloggedonuser is retrieved into windows_user_name successfully we branch to the else statement where we test the len of net_domain. I can't see that net_domain is defined or filled anywhere. Right now this works for me because windows_user_name gets filled with DOMAIN\User and the len(net_domain) test fails so we don't tack on windows_user_domain to the username which already includes it.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/