Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Tue Apr 24, 2018 5:06 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:00 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
I have an Open Audit 2 question, I know that you are still in the Alpha stages of the software, but it is starting to look real good, and our IT team was thinking about running OAv2 along side our OAv1 installation in a quasi production role.

So the question is are you pretty much set on your current database structure? Because if you are not then we will hold off on our plans, because obviously we do not want to put a lot work into getting all the Locations and Organizations setup, the groups the way we want them, and whatnot if the DB is going to start changing around a bit.

Anyway great work on OAv2a7.2

-Shmee

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi Shmee,

Well - as far as the locations, groups, orgs, users, sys_hw_* and sys_sw_* tables are concerned - they SHOULD stay quite stable now. I will be adding tables for CMDB and Software Inventory stuff a bit later. Tell you what - if you are willing to give it a go in "production", if I make any changes to the above tables, I'll make sure to include an upgrade DB script from now on.

Let me review the DB this weekend and make sure I have it how I want it. I'll push another release and from then on, include DB upgrade scripts (if I need to).

Maybe it's time to move it to Beta status ! A stable DB would imply that, I think...

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:45 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:33 am
Posts: 83
Location: Hampshire, UK
Just to add my "yes please" on the stable DB structure + DB upgrade scenario. I've more or less switched my (small) installation to OAV2 and this would make life *much* easier!
Thanks,
John

_________________
OA environment:
OA Server: Ubuntu 10.04LTS
1 Windows 2008R2 Server
4 Windows 2003 Servers
20 Windows XP workstations
1 Windows 7 workstation
2 Ubuntu 11.10 servers
Misc other networked items


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:05 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
That sounds great to me.

Thanks man,

Shmee

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 6:25 am 
Offline
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 204
Location: Massachusetts
Great news. I'm planning on installing OAv2 and testing it out next week.

I have a Z-OS developer here, and he wants to try to get the perl audit script working for his mainframes. If he gets results and/or makes any changes to the script I'll post them here.

_________________
Server Info: running on a CentOS 7 vm
OA Version: 2.0.6 @ 500 devices


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:24 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
Any updates on how beta 1 is coming? I know that you are dealing with the floods down there, so I am not hurrying you. Just excited to see what you are up too.

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:08 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1944
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Have been too busy with real life for the last couple of weeks :-(
I do have a list of items I need to fix before B1 is released, and it's not long.
I might get some coding done on Sunday night (we have family staying with us this weekend).
Sigh - damn real life !!!

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OAv2 Question?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:37 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:41 pm
Posts: 5
On a side note to that is there, or could there be away to dump OAv1 db and import to OAv2 as I have alot of Custom made equipment (manual input) with detailed info and I don't want to reinvent the wheel as the saying goes

Montebond


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group