Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 12:55 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:48 pm
Posts: 38
How do I start auditing the Windows and Linux clients from the Linux OA and OAV2 servers. I want to try out bot the versions. Can anybody point me to this information please?

Can I have a base inventory of hardware and software say today, and track changes to h/w and s/w
in future comparing with this base inventory? Is this feature available? if it is, then in OA or OAV2?

Regards,
Deepak


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
To audit Windows clients, you need to run the audit script on a Windows machine.
IE - If you want to run a domain audit -

1 - copy both the audit_domain.vbs and audit_windows.vbs to a Windows machine.
2 - Make sure you are logged onto that machine with an account that has Local Admin on all machines you wish to audit (usually a Domain Admin account is the easiest way to do this).
3 - Edit both audit_domain.vbs and audit_windows.vbs so they match your configuration (samples below).
4 - run the domain audit by changing into the directory containg the scripts and "cscript audit_domain.vbs".


Sample config's.
Audit Domain
number_of_audits = 5 <- the number of concurrent audits run by your audit host (the machine you typed "cscript audit_domain.vbs" on).
audit_run_type = "local" <- just keep it to local initially. More network traffic, but the script is more tested.
script_name = "c:\temp\audit_windows.vbs" <- set it to the location of your audit script. Do not use paths such as \\machinename\temp\audit.vbs. A local path is recommended.
local_domain = "LDAP://DC=your,DC=active,DC=directory,DC=name" <- the full path/version, not the shortened version.
operating_system = "Windows" <- leave as Windows to audit all Windows machines. You can filter on Server or some other Operating System name if you like.


Audit Windows
url = "http://Open-AudIT-HOST-SYSTEM/index.php/system" <- really this is the only config needed.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:28 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:48 pm
Posts: 38
Mark Thank you. How much time it may take to set up audit of 100 Windows machines in a single domain? Is there any automation through any scripts? I see that there is the domain scripts.. which may be automating the configuration of all the desk tops in the domain. I am talking of setting up the audit not audit time..

Regards,
Deepak


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 3:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
If the 100 workstations in the domain are all that is in the domain - maybe 2 minutes to edit the files as detailed above.

If they are 100 specific workstations (versus the complete domain), take a look at the audit_list.vbs script. If you have the list of 100 machines, a quick bit of text find/replace and you can put them into that script.
Stick them into the pc_array = array ( "COMPUTERNAME1", "COMPUTERNAME2") variable.
The other variables should be set, as the previous post above.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group