Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:38 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:40 pm
Posts: 7
Location: England
I've been using Open Audit for over a year now and I still keep finding new features on it that I hadnt spotted before!

What does seem to keep happening is that I keep running out of space and have to keep increasing the size of the hard disk (it's on a VM so I can do that).

We've not brought many computer (5 or 6) in the last 6 months or so yet the database for Open Audit seems to have grown a lot!

In the past when I've noticed the hard disk space is getting low, by the time I get round to looking at the server it has freed some space up somehow.

Is open-audit auto-pruning or something or can I expect the database to continually grow over time?

We have around 300 machines that are audited which isnt that many.

Thanks.

_________________
My personal web site: http://www.helpdeskrules.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:24 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:40 pm
Posts: 7
Location: England
It's gotten to the stage now where I have had to completely remove OpenAudit and then re-install from scratch and start all over again - of course I have taken the opportunity to try out the RC version :)

I'm dissapointed no one knows how big the database should get and if it auto-prunes itself or not or just keeps growing and growing.

_________________
My personal web site: http://www.helpdeskrules.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:14 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1254
Unless you delete systems or prune out old audit data the database will only grow. Pruning old audit data is not a feature of OpenAudit so you'll need to do it yourself. The database size is related to the number of systems and their contents. I see from another post that you're auditing every 2 hours. Unless you need audit data at this resolution I'd suggest reducing your audit frequency.

You never state the actual size of your MySQL database or its growth rate. Since you're not adding machines much just perform an audit of your machines, note the database size, perform another audit of your machines and see how much your database has grown. Multiple by your audit frequency and size your VM disk appropriately.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group