Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 7:28 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:35 am 

Hi guys,
I'm new to open audit and mysql, so I'm hoping to get a little help here. I have been following the guide linked below to get open audit setup. Up until the setup of the open audit database, everything has been going smooth.

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2307

Right now, I'm stuck on configuring the database(chapter 5, "setup" section). When i goto "http://localhost:8080" (using port 8080 because the default web page is running another app), i receive the following error "Could not connect: Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)".

From what experience i have, this looks like an authentication problem on the mysql side of things, although i can log into mysql using "mysql -u root -p" then entering the password. I've double checked all the steps and i don't see what's wrong at this point. Could i be missing something on iis since im not using the default website? PHP seems to be working properly, based on the output from "http://localhost:8080/php.php".

I'm really not sure where to go from here and my google searches have been less than helpful. Any guidence would be appreciated. Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:15 am 
My guess is that the user 'root'@'localhost' does not exist. Note that mysql can allow separate credentials for the same username depending on the host string used (e.g., inside ip, outside ip). You may need to create the localhost account (or it might have no password).

See [url]http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/adding-users.html[/url].

Or [url]http://www.phpmyadmin.net/[/url] for web based administration of mysql.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:54 pm