Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:13 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DB empty after upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:42 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 13
I am not sure what I did but my DB is now empty! I just updated to the latest svn and after the setup and config my DB is gone!? I have a backup, can I just import this DB? Or did something change that it will not use the old data?

Sorry for the noob question, I am just not sure what I could have done wrong. I have updated before without hiccups.

_________________
OA Server: Ubuntu 8.04 LAMP
Auditing: 400+ Wrkstns, 20+ Srvrs.
OS's: Windows XP , W2K3 Srvrs, W2k8 Srvr, Win7, Red Hat, and a MAC.
LDAP: 2 AD Domians, no trust.
I have scheduled audits running from the DCs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:06 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
Very strange, you should be able to restore your data, since most of the upgrades simply add new tables. Did you re-run the setup page? You dont need to, and this may have been the reason for the data vanishing. If not I am at a bit of a loss, 'cos this shouldnt ever happen.

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:29 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:08 am
Posts: 13
OK, i did the import from my backup and all seems well.

That must have been my fault with running the config again. I see that these config pages change and I thought it may be a good idea to run the config again to address the new settings. Obviously this is not the case. So... does the config file update itself once you set or change those new settings?

_________________
OA Server: Ubuntu 8.04 LAMP
Auditing: 400+ Wrkstns, 20+ Srvrs.
OS's: Windows XP , W2K3 Srvrs, W2k8 Srvr, Win7, Red Hat, and a MAC.
LDAP: 2 AD Domians, no trust.
I have scheduled audits running from the DCs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:13 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
The Admin > Config page wont drop the database, however if you loose the include_config.php page, then the setup page will re-run to allow you to create a new setup. This will prompt you for database details, and will drop the database (if you select the option to do so).

In other words, if for some reason OA is unusable, simply delete or rename include_config.php and the setup page will run automatically. If you choose NOT to drop the database, at this stage, your data should be preserved, however, always take a backup of everything first. Remember, you can never have too many backups.

Hope this clarifies how things are designed to work. If by any chance you see some other results, then you have probably found a bug. :o Tell us how to replicate it, and we will fix it.

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group