Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:06 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:00 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 1
I'm going through the install process and everything seems to go fine until I get to the Setup Database part. The page shows Connecting to the MySQL Server... . I thought that it may just take a while, so I let it sit for an hour. It still says Connecting to the MySQL Server... . I'm getting no errors. Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:20 pm 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:59 am
Posts: 75
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Do you have the correct values in the include_config.php file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:24 pm 
It may be an error in the setup script, I'm not entirely sure. Please download this version of setup.php:
Quote:
http://open-audit.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/*checkout*/open-audit/trunk/setup.php?revision=690

There were some bug fixes and actually I believe the installer that got released was buggy! Hope the new script works for you.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:39 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 23
Location: NH
I'm seeing the same issue. I tried the new setup.php with no luck...

_________________
-AxM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:37 am 
What version of MySQL/PHP and also is it on localhost?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 23
Location: NH
MySQL version 5.0.27-community-nt. It's loaded in the c:\prog files\mysql\mysql server 5.0\ directory, however I have all necessary directories in my PATH. (ie. bin, etc)

PHP is 5.2.0.0 and it is off the root (C:\php)

P.S. MontanaScott sorry to take over your post, hopefully the same resolution fixes us both!!

_________________
-AxM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
OK, create a .php file in your web directory, and inside it, put the following:
Code:
<?php
phpinfo();
?>

Next, call that page in your web browser. Do you see a section with a "mysql" heading ? If not, then your php isn't talking to your mysql....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:43 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 23
Location: NH
You nailed it! No MySQL section, the two are not on speaking terms...

_________________
-AxM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
Look for the following in your php.ini file.. (you may have more than one PHP.INI file if you have installed PHP and Apache as separate packages, so if this line looks OK, look for another PHP.INI file).

Code:
;extension=php_mysql.dll


if it has a ; in front of the line, then remove it.

ALSO beware the line ;extension=php_mssql.dll is for Microsoft SQL so check carefully.... mysql not mssql


Code:
extension=php_mysql.dll


and restart the web server (apache or iis)
(If you are running Linux, the line will be slightly different)

BTW this sort of problem is the reason I moved to using XAMPP, it typically sets up all of this stuff for you. http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html


Last edited by A_Hull on Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 12:08 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:15 am
Posts: 71
I noticed when I ran the installation for PHP, there was an option to select the MySQL components (got around this issue nicely!).

_________________
Server Info:
OS : Windows Server 2003
Auditing: ~300 machines
LDAP: Windows Server 2003 Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 1:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
qc_metal wrote:
I noticed when I ran the installation for PHP, there was an option to select the MySQL components (got around this issue nicely!).


I take it that means the issue is fixed (I will mark it fixed). If not let me know.
Hope you enjoy using Open Audit. Let us know how you get on.
:lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:37 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 7:15 am
Posts: 71
Whoops - I guess I hopped into this conversation saying that the PHP installation for Windows gives you an option to select MySQL add-ins during install...just trying to be helpful. I don't know if the issue is fixed for AMueller...

_________________
Server Info:
OS : Windows Server 2003
Auditing: ~300 machines
LDAP: Windows Server 2003 Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 2:01 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 23
Location: NH
Thanks for all the input. I'm actually away from my computer until Tuesday but will try the php.ini fix then.

Thanks all for your help!

_________________
-AxM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:07 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:32 am
Posts: 23
Location: NH
That was it!!! I uncommented that line and I got by that piece. Thanks for your guys help and patience!

:D

_________________
-AxM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group