Open-AudIT
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/

Scanning 1000 Computers takes too much time
https://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1179
Page 1 of 1

Author:  matze [ Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:21 am ]
Post subject:  Scanning 1000 Computers takes too much time

Hello,

a scan of localhost takes 180 Seconds. 1000 Computers would take 50 hours.
Is there any way to scan some host (10 or 20) simultaneuosly?

Actually, I scan from one host my whole network. Is it better to run the audit by loginscript? My user have not admin-previliges.

Kind regards

matze

Author:  mikeyrb [ Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:07 am ]
Post subject: 

If you look in the audit.config file, you'll see a line that looks like this:

number_of_audits = 20

That number controls how many audits are run simultaneously. So, by default, it will audit 20 machines at a time. If you're on a domain, it will pull down the list of computers and start scanning them, so it won't take 50 hours!

Author:  matze [ Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:23 pm ]
Post subject: 

Is it possible to scan a network based on a tcp-scan instead of ldap?

Author:  mikeyrb [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:19 am ]
Post subject: 

Currently, no. It wouldn't be incredibly hard to do, but what is your reason for needing a tcp-scan instead? I want to know how your network is setup to see what the best solution is.

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 3:54 am ]
Post subject: 

Hallo mikeyrb,

thanks for your help.

We run a NT4-Style Samba controlled Domain with OpenLDAP as backend on 10 Locations (connected via 2mbit vpn).

Actually, we run our inventory software based on a portscan at each locations-subnet 2 times a week.

But after studying the code and config-files, I think that we can scan our network with the hosts from ldap. Could you give me more informations about configuring scanning by ldap?

Author:  mikeyrb [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:00 am ]
Post subject: 

You will need to modify these lines in audit.config:

audit_local_domain = "y"

local_domain = "LDAP://"

Make sure audit_local_domain is "y" and then add your domain to local_domain, so if your domain was MYDOMAIN.COM, then that line would read:

local_domain = "LDAP://MYDOMAIN.COM"

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 4:25 am ]
Post subject: 

Hello,

this is my config.

audit_local_domain = "y"
local_domain = "ldap://servername/ou=computers,o=company,c=com"

But running "cscript audit.vbs" only audits the local pc. "cscript audit.vbs computername" works fine.

matzek

Author:  mikeyrb [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:37 am ]
Post subject: 

Ah yeah, I forgot to mention that! Change strComputer to equal ""

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:37 am ]
Post subject: 

C:\Programme\OpenAudit\audit.vbs(151, 3) Provider: Tabelle ist nicht vorhanden.

I'm not using AD. It's pure LDAP.

Author:  mikeyrb [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:18 am ]
Post subject: 

Yeah, the script was written for AD. We'll have to look into LDAP, but if you find out anything, let us know.

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

My first solution is to generate the pc_list_file.txt by ldapsearch from OpenLDAP and some Gnu-Tools:

C:\Programme\OpenLDAP\ldapsearch.exe -H "LDAP://server" -b "ou=computers,o=company,c=com" cn | grep cn: | cut -d ":" -f 2 | sed s/\$/,,/ | tr -d "\ " > C:\Programme\OpenAudit\pc_list_file.txt

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:50 pm ]
Post subject: 

Is it possible to implement puren LDAP in the release?

This Code works fine:

Set ou = GetObject("LDAP://server.de/ou=computers,o=company,c=com")
For Each obj In ou

strComputer = Replace(obj.cn,"$","")
WScript.Echo strComputer

Next

All Machine-Accounts In Samba 3 have the "$"-Suffix, this must be replaced.

Author:  A_Hull [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:18 pm ]
Post subject: 

[quote="matze"]Is it possible to implement puren LDAP in the release?

This Code works fine:

Set ou = GetObject("LDAP://server.de/ou=computers,o=company,c=com")
For Each obj In ou

strComputer = Replace(obj.cn,"$","")
WScript.Echo strComputer

Next

All Machine-Accounts In Samba 3 have the "$"-Suffix, this must be replaced.

I assume you mean universal LDAP approach, on that will work with both AD and SAMBA (and in theory Novell or any other LDAP).

Author:  matze [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:23 pm ]
Post subject: 

> you mean universal LDAP approach, on that will work with both AD and SAMBA (and in theory Novell or any other LDAP).

Yep, is this possible?

Author:  A_Hull [ Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

[quote="matze"]> you mean universal LDAP approach, on that will work with both AD and SAMBA (and in theory Novell or any other LDAP).

Yep, is this possible?

I would think so, but I will look in to it. Why not add it to the feature requests.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/