Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:25 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:14 pm
Posts: 15
Hello!

I wondering why "open audit" doesn't want to scan computers wich have windows 95, 98?

All other computers with win 200 and xp open audit scans good.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 9:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 193
Have you installed wmi for Windows 95/98


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:38 pm 
WMI on windows 95/98 is just a pain. I tried it on a machine, and I could never figure out how to open it up to network traffic easily (and perhaps if you do, it may well be insecure).


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1964
Location: Brisbane, Australia
With WMI and VBScript installed, (latest versions), it did work (at least it used to).
Check the old page below for more info. I'll have to make a FAQ for this...
http://winventory.sourceforge.net/docs.php
Mark.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:55 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:14 pm
Posts: 15
Yes i installed WMI for windows 95 and Wbscript for windows 98 on the same computer.

It look like that Wbscript for windows 98 doesn't work on win 95 (i cant find it for win 95)

When i run audit.vbs script i get error wich you can see on the picture.

http://www.avtomobilizem.org/error.jpg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 11:49 pm 
Are you trying to run the script remotely against a win95/98 machine? If so, you need to open up WMI on those computers to accept requests from network connections. Google for that if you need help, because I don't know off the top of my head. I tried it a few months ago, and never got it the way I wanted it. I think it would probably work fine on the localhost. I also have no more 98 machines in the building, so I can't test it.

[ps, I closed the other thread, I think the title of this is more helpful so let's keep this discussion here.]


Top
  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group