Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:26 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:59 am 
Offline
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 182
Location: Massachusetts
I've used snmp scans for the esxi servers and have never been able to successfully use the audit script. When I try to use the latest version 1.6.2 I get "/bi: not found" errors (see attached screenshot which halts the script, and nothing ever gets uploaded to the server. Any ideas? thanks


Attachments:
audit_esxi.jpg
audit_esxi.jpg [ 109.07 KiB | Viewed 2695 times ]

_________________
Server Info: running on a CentOS 7 vm
OA Version: 2.0.6 @ 500 devices
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
What version of ESXi are you running?
On line 466 of audit_esxi.sh, can you replace
Code:
start_time=$(timer)

with
Code:
start_time=`timer`

Then re-run the script and see if line 466 generates an error.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 11:57 pm 
Offline
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 182
Location: Massachusetts
Running esxi 5 update 3 aka Releasebuild-1311175

I made the change, the error didn't change


Attachments:
audit_esxi2.jpg
audit_esxi2.jpg [ 132.46 KiB | Viewed 2675 times ]

_________________
Server Info: running on a CentOS 7 vm
OA Version: 2.0.6 @ 500 devices
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
That's weird. I can't see why it would do that.
If anyone else has any idea's, now would be a nice time to chime in.
I "might" be able to run up an image of the same version and test it.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:22 am 
Offline
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:41 am
Posts: 182
Location: Massachusetts
Checking into this further. Looking at the esxi audit script OA_DMIDECODE

Code:
OA_DMIDECODE=`which dmidecode 2>/dev/null`
   if [ "$OA_DMIDECODE" = "" ] || [ "$OA_DMIDECODE" = " " ] || [ -z "$OA_DMIDECODE" ]; then
      if [ -f "/usr/local/sbin/dmidecode" ]; then
         OA_DMIDECODE="/usr/local/sbin/dmidecode"
      fi
   fi


On our esxi 5 hosts the location of sbin is /usr/sbin (not /usr/local/sbin) attached (sbin.JPG) are the files found at /usr/sbin

According to ablogpost I found http://nutanix.blogspot.com/2013/06/esxi-kvm-commands-equivalent.html smbiosDump is an alternative to dmidecode


Attachments:
sbin.JPG
sbin.JPG [ 94.26 KiB | Viewed 2417 times ]

_________________
Server Info: running on a CentOS 7 vm
OA Version: 2.0.6 @ 500 devices
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group