Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:03 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:12 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:43 am
Posts: 23
Is it possible to have Open-Audit Web app exist on one server and post to a MYSQL on another server? We have a few users that are remote workers at home and we wanted to setup open-audit in the DMZ where these users can download the audit script with config file and run it and then post the info the open-audit dmz server which would get the data and post it to a mysql on an internals server.

Any info or insight is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 2:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
Totally possible but I WOULD NOT do this. I would not install OpenAudit on a public facing web site as there is no authentication done when posting data and I don't think the input validation is exhaustive enough either. I would use some kind of VPN to expose OpenAudit to select people rather than the world.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:00 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:43 am
Posts: 23
Thanks for the info, my other question is can the open-audit script run from within a webpage. Can a user be direct to a URL and the web page would scan their local PC and upload to MYSQL?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:20 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
Something like this is coming in the next version although I think it would always require user intervention. Basically there will be a button on a page that says "Audit my pc" which would cause a prompt to save or open the audit script and the user would need to run the script. I think some sort of server based web auditing is also coming in the next version. I think proper security will get in the way of totally automating what you want.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:05 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:43 am
Posts: 23
Sorry for the newbie question here but I used OpenAudit v1 and with v2 I cannot seem to get it installed. I have XAMPP and Apache working fine. I download the open-audit code and extract it. Now it is an OAv2 folder and I do not see any setup.php file anywhere. What am I missing?

Thanks so much for all the help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:20 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
The Windows install instructions in the download assume you're using the preconfigured XAMPP install. If you've already got XAMPP installed you'll need to manually do the install. See this post by Mark for instructions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:43 am
Posts: 23
Thanks for all your help I appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group