Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 3:54 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Domain Auditing/Tuning
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:12 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:59 am
Posts: 75
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Hello everyone! I have been using OA for a couple years now through multiple facilities and am just amazed at it's development.

I used to run the scripts locally on every networked machine via log in scripts in an openSuse/openLDAP/Samba environment. Now I am in an AD environment and using a spare desktop (XP Pro) as the auditing machine. The DB is on an openSUSE 11.x box. I support a healthcare facility with 24/7 coverage so I have the scheduled task auditing 4 times a day.

I have 40 machines being audited at once (about 1600 devices total) and the auditing usually goes pretty quick but the CPU is pegged at 100%. It's a P4 @ 2.8Ghz with 1.5GB RAM. It's no power house by today's standards but it's only function is to run this script via a service account. The box stays at 100% under the audit.vbs script is closed.

What concerns me is that the script continues to run and I had to create a batch file which kills the task after a certain period of time. Here is my script:

Code:
cscript "C:\Scripts\OA\Current\audit.vbs"
sleep 7200
Script_Shutdown_Script.bat


The Script_Shutdown_Script.bat file is just a short script that kills any leftover processes from the audit script.

I hate to set the script to audit like 20 machines or something at a time since I want the process to go relatively quick. I'm running the latest release.

Thanks!

_________________
Server: VM, 4GB RAM, 2 vCPU
Software: Server 2012 R2, OAE 1.6.2
Auditing: 350+ machines (W2K3, W2K8, W2K12, 7, 8, Vista, Linux)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
The 100% CPU usage is an issue for me too, it seems that the script is very processor hogging, for no good reason that I can think of. Anybody any ideas?

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:03 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:23 am
Posts: 10
harner wrote:
What concerns me is that the script continues to run and I had to create a batch file which kills the task after a certain period of time. Here is my script:

Just a thought...if you are not using an input file, make sure that line is commented out in your audit.config like below.

'input_file = "pc_list_file.txt"

_________________
Server Info: Dell PowerEdge 2650
Software: Windows 2003 Server R2 SE SP2, XAMPP 1.7.1, Open Audit v10.05.25
Auditing: 270+ machines (XP, W7, W2K, W2K3, W2K8, Vista, Linux)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:33 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:59 am
Posts: 75
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
I commented the line out and am running a test script now. Thanks.

As for the 100% CPU Utilization, I think it has to do with the crazy amount of processes that kick off at the same time.

I have an i7 box at home. Maybe I should try it on that? That thing barely breathes at any given time so it should be interesting.

_________________
Server: VM, 4GB RAM, 2 vCPU
Software: Server 2012 R2, OAE 1.6.2
Auditing: 350+ machines (W2K3, W2K8, W2K12, 7, 8, Vista, Linux)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
harner wrote:
I commented the line out and am running a test script now. Thanks.

As for the 100% CPU Utilization, I think it has to do with the crazy amount of processes that kick off at the same time.

I have an i7 box at home. Maybe I should try it on that? That thing barely breathes at any given time so it should be interesting.


I've tried trimming down to 2 or three processes, but the thing still sits at 100% usage, looks like an issue with specific machines, will take a closer look when things quieten down again round here. :cry:

This "working for a living" thing is grossly over rated, can I retire now please... yes I know I'm too young, but I wont enjoy it as much when I'm older. :twisted:

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group