Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:54 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Nagios + Open-audit
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:46 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:18 am
Posts: 16
As always when I post... thanks for a great product :-) I have introduced it now in 3 jobs and each time has been a resounding success !!!

So, onto my question/discussion point. I am using nagios as my monitoring system, and I want to start using a SOA approach to my information. As such, I have linked our cacti through to our hosts using the variables of http:/cacti.local.com/%computername%. I would like to do something similar with my open-audit installation so that we can get the needed information on each server, without manually coding in 900 servers. As such, I was hoping for some guidence about the UUID setting. Is it possible for that to be the computer name of the server? Nagios has the server name (but not the mac address) of the servers. As such, I can pass the variable of the computer name throuhg, and then have a self populating address with little work on my part.


Also, the second question is... Is there the capability to run Open-Audit against just a list of machines, not scanning domains? Once again, the reason being that the nagios servers are all we will care about, and they are the ones that will HAVE to be kept up to date and verified... I can hack the VBscript, but if someone has already done the work.... :-) Thanks ahead of time


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Nagios + Open-audit
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Quote:
As such, I was hoping for some guidence about the UUID setting. Is it possible for that to be the computer name of the server?

In the "audit.config" file, check the uuuid_type variable. Set it to "name". Should do the trick.
Quote:
Also, the second question is... Is there the capability to run Open-Audit against just a list of machines, not scanning domains?

Well, it definitley USED to be possible. Can't say I've tried it for a couple of years now. In the scripts directory, have a look at the "pc_file_list.txt" file. In the "audit.config" file, look at the input_file variable.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group