Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:19 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:28 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:54 am
Posts: 156
edit: Not rdy for OA


Last edited by imacs on Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:39 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:54 am
Posts: 156
Edit: Not rdy for OA


Last edited by imacs on Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:56 am 
First, is ldap support built-in to php by default (and on what platforms)?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:00 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:54 am
Posts: 156
The machine OA is on is a WinXP machine with IIS PHP MySQL...never touched ldap functions on it.... :-/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:03 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 193
ldap support is not built into php. Although it's easy to add, and most packages such as xampp etc have it built in


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:11 am 
The default LAMP package for ubuntu does not have it. Plus, this is starting to get into the help desk functionality, which is beyond the scope of OpenAudit. Right now, we need to make OA really good at one thing: auditing. This would probably make a good add-on, but for now, it's enough work trying to support OA, for which the libraries are already built-in to php.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:21 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 193
I agree


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:39 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
This feature can be made optional, either with a check box or by detecting support for LDAP.

i.e. if ldap is not available, neither would the feature be.

I am slightly surprised that LAMPS don't have this ability, since OpenLdap is available for Linux and included with most distros, therefore PHP ldap support would seem an obvious inclusion. Have you checked that you dont simply have to add it into PHP.INI?

For more info see http://uk2.php.net/ldap

I agree it is a bit "helpdesk"-ish and maybe not a top priority, but if you want it, why not spend the time develping it. I could certainly use the ability to look in my audit and see who should be sitting at a certain machine, since I can then call them up and ask why they have ben installing unauthorised software for example.

I can obviously do this the hard way (call up AD users and computer, find the computer and user, look up the phone number etc) but why not let OA do all of the hard work for you. Especially if I add back the ability to connect using RDP or VNC which I had recently added to Winventory (see the Winventory support forums for more details) directly from OA. This gives a "one click to connect to the user" kind of feel to OA.

I dont think we should discourage development of a particular feature simply because "I wont use it".

Feel free to shout me down however I'm fairly thick skinned. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:15 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:54 am
Posts: 156
Thanks Andrew....but i need to clean up the scripting a bit before i post it again


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:24 am 
I'm not discouraging it. The scope of OA is well-defined - do the auditing of pc's. Therefore that is what we will include in our source releases. OA is open source, so people can add/change whatever they like. Our goal is to make this the best we can, and as you know, the more features you have, the harder it is to get everything working right.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:41 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:44 am
Posts: 193
I agree again! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group