Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:40 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:06 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
An issue exists whereby a Dell Laptop on a docking station shows up with no system_id

Code:
System Name:    ??????????
Directory Info:     Computer Details
Description:    
Domain Role:    Workstation
Registered User:    ?????????????????
Current User:    ??????????????
Directory Info:     User Details
Domain:    cmarine.local
Chassis Type:    Docking Station
Model #:    Latitude D600
Serial #:                                                           <+++++++ No Serial Number
Manufacturer:    Dell Computer Corporation
Operating System:    XP Pro
Build Number:    2600
UUID:    4C4C4544-0000-0010-8000-80C04F000000
OS Installed Date:    2006-03-08
IP:    ????????????
Subnet:    255.0.0.0
DHCP:    Yes / ????????????
Date First Audited:    2007-02-05    15:56
Date Last Audited:    2009-03-20
Memory:    511 MB
Links to Manufacturer:  ?    This vendor = [DELL COMPUTER CORPORATION] sub string = [DELL] No Links configured for this Manufacturer
What does it look like:      Show me some pictures of the Latitude D600


The Vendor substring is OK, but the issue is with the Serial Number.

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
Contributor

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 6:46 am
Posts: 153
Location: USA - WI
Interesting. We have a user that has a Dell Latitude D830 that's kept on a docking station and it doesn't have any issues like that. I wonder if it's just the docking station type causing it or maybe the OS? The one we have runs Vista.

_________________
OA Server: Debian Squeeze w/ Apache2
Auditing: 700 Workstations, 250 or so Retail Terminals, about 75 Servers
OS's: Windows XP/2003/2008/2008 R2/Vista/7, Debian
LDAP: Active Directory 2008 R2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:09 am
Posts: 2140
Location: Scotland
The vast majority of our Dell Laptops work fine, but this particular one is a pain. I will keep you posted if I find the cause or a solution.

_________________
Andrew

OA Server: Windows XP/ XAMPP, Mandriva/Apache, Ubuntu
Auditing: 300+ Wstns, 20+ Srvrs, Thin clients, Linux boxes, Routers, etc
OS's: Windows XP , W2K Srvr, W2K3 Srvr, W2K8, Vista, Windows 7, Linuxes (and a Mac at home)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group