Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:10 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 12:00 am
Posts: 13
This is the area I want to test next but I am not getting any luck so far.
I have installed nmap and I still get errors .
May be someone explain in brief how it works and how to set up.
Minimum how it works in relation with the scripts may be I will figure out where I am getting it wrong.

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:22 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1223
Nmap setup is pretty simple in theory and not so simple in practice.

For Windows:
First, make sure you're on the latest SVN version of OpenAudit.
Make sure you have nmap installed.
Edit the nmap_* entries in your audit.config. For example:
Code:
'
' Nmap section
'
nmap_tmp_cleanup = true           ' Set this false if you want to leave the tmp files for analysis in your tmp folder
nmap_subnet = "192.168.0."            ' The subnet you wish to scan
nmap_subnet_formatted = "192.168.000."    ' The subnet padded with 0's
nmap_ie_form_page = audit_host + "/admin_nmap_input.php"
nmap_ie_visible = "n" 
nmap_ie_auto_close = "y"
nmap_ip_start = 1
nmap_ip_end = 254
nmap_syn_scan = "y"      ' Tcp Syn scan
nmap_udp_scan = "y"      ' UDP scan
nmap_srv_ver_scan = "n"  ' Service version detection.
nmap_srv_ver_int = 9     ' Service version detection intensity level. Values 0-9, 0=fast

Run the nmap.vbs audit script: cscript nmap.vbs
Make sure to run the nmap audit script from a machine on the same network as you configured in the audit.config file. If you try to map a different subnet nmap won't retrieve the target machines MAC address and the current code doesn't handle this.

For linux:
Edit the nmap_linux.sh command. Make sure to get the starting and ending IP address set correctly in the for loop, the subnet in the nmap_input line and the correct posting address in the wget line.
Again, I think you'll do best to run this from a machine on the same subnet you're auditing.

If this doesn't work then you'll need to describe your errors a bit better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group