Open-AudIT
http://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/

What do YOU need in OAv2 ?
http://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3997
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Mark [ Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:22 am ]
Post subject:  What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

OK, with the next release of OAv2 pending (shortly), anyone who has tried it - what are the features you need implemented so you can replace Open-AudIT.

Basically - what should I work on next so you can take advantage of OAv2 ?

Author:  jpa [ Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Here's a couple things I use a lot in OpenAudit that are not in v2:

Search box on the main page.
Links to manufacturer on System page
Username setfocus on login page

Author:  Mark [ Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

I've implemented Search, but haven't come up with a way to display an input box as yet.
With 0.7, you can type a URL such -
http://yourserver/index.php/main/search/1/test
Where 1 is the number of the group you wish to search and test is the search string.
Seem's to work OK for now.
I need to sort something out on the Group List (or Main) page - thinking some sort of subtle javascript pop-up to search on a given group....

Links to manufacturer's I have now done, too (in 0.7).
Links appear on the details of a system page, in the header section.

Username setfocus on login page - done.

Alpha 7 is here -
http://launchpad.net/oav2/trunk/alpha7/+download/OAv2.zip

Author:  Mark [ Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

bump

Anyone else ?!?!?!
what do you need in OAv2 ?

Author:  jpa [ Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Just a reminder that at least one user wanted to be able to do a domain audit by OU.

Author:  el_geto [ Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

I have not tested OAv2 yet, but is there a mobile device friendly page? maybe a stylesheet for small screens like iphones or blackberries? or other screen form factors like ipads? Can CSS be created for such thing?

And this is beyond OA realm of development, but maybe some other fantastic developer in here could create an app that can scan barcodes and do searches within OA :?: .

Author:  Mark [ Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Quote:
Just a reminder that at least one user wanted to be able to do a domain audit by OU.

Yep - no problem. Will take a look at it.

Quote:
is there a mobile device friendly page? maybe a stylesheet for small screens like iphones or blackberries? or other screen form factors like ipads? Can CSS be created for such thing?

No, there are no device specific stylesheets. Having said that - I used the CodeIgniter framework for this reason (amongst others). The display pages are all seperated from the data and logic pagec - MVC. There is the ability in OAv2 to set your "theme". Obviously I have only written a theme based on Tango as yet. There is no reason another theme can't be written. This would include a simple "device detection" section to redirect iPhones / Android phones / iPads, et al to another stylesheet. Should be easy. I don't have an iPad - so if you want to buy me one.... :-) I do have an Android phone though. I'll have to see what I can do, but to be honest I'm still trying to get it to feature parity with Open-AudIT (v1). I'll put it "on the list" though.

Quote:
create an app that can scan barcodes and do searches within OA

The search API is already there. Just need a scanner to output like a keyboard would. Shouldn't be hard.

Author:  el_geto [ Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

I got OAv2 installed on my test machine, I'm glad you separated content vs presentation, also I found that you can assign a theme to a user, nice move :D .

Quote:
There is no reason another theme can't be written.

Where can I find CI documentation about themes? I found this jQuery plugin for mobile web development on the iPhone called jQTouch, I'd like to give it a whirl.

Quote:
I don't have an iPad

Me neither, just an iPhone 3GS, but my work has 10 of them that I can borrow :D

By the way, the script to add dummy data didn't work for me... will try it again tomorrow.
Also, there's another thread involving Mac audit scripts which has had some nice advances.Can OAv2 handle another operating system like OSX if the such audit script work?

Author:  Mark [ Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Quote:
Where can I find CI documentation about themes? I found this jQuery plugin for mobile web development on the iPhone called jQTouch, I'd like to give it a whirl.

I don't know that there is any. I took the approach that a "view" would simply have the data sent to it and it was up to the view how it displayed it. I do plan on creating a "theme" with no theme at all - just a data dump. That way, you can see the output of each controller and create a theme to display said output...

Quote:
but my work has 10 of them that I can borrow

Work here has just bought half a dozen to "test" - yeah, senior management only... We _might_ get some to play about with down the track. I may also be able to borrow one for a weekend... To be honest, this isn't a major item on the agenda at this stage. It is "on the list" though...

Quote:
Can OAv2 handle another operating system like OSX if the such audit script work?

Most definitely. Grab an audit output from an existing (Windows) system. Simply make the Mac Audit script output the same values in the same XML tags and it'll work fine. If a value in the "system" XML does not exist, at this stage, best to err on the side of including the tags without a value, rather than not including the tags. As for other sections, include them if they exist, leave them out if they don't. Should work fine.

Author:  el_geto [ Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

How about fonts. I've run into situations were fonts are licensed and need to keep track of who has what. On the macs you have font file name, kind (truetype, opentype, etc) valid and enabled. Then more details for each specific typeface: Full Name, Family, Style, version, unique name, copyright, trademark, outline, valid, enabled, duplicate, copy protected, embeddable.

Also power settings might be useful, sleep timer, disk sleep timer, screen sleep, wake on lan, etc.
installed UPS (for servers)?

Author:  Mark [ Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

I suppose we could fonts into the Software section.
We alrady have odbc, updates, codec's, etc - font's would just be another type of software that is installed.
I'll take a look for someway of getting the info via WMI/VBscript...

Author:  ii Candor ii [ Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

In order to use OAv2 I will need to be able to use it in a non-domain, non-networked environment. I currently have 30 locations which are not networked together in any way, nor is there a server in any of the locations. Each location has 1-6 Windows workstations and 1 laptop that stays there. So, roughly 120 computers total. I also have a couple Windows servers but they're not as important to audit.

Here's how I currently use Open-AudIT:

Setup a scheduled task that runs a download script (shown below) which downloads the openaudit script from the webserver, runs it on the computer, then cleans everything up. The reason I do it this way is so I can change the openaudit script server-side and have the changes affect all computers which have the download script scheduled without having to manually update the script on every computer individually.

If OAv2 can't do this or something similar, then I'm not sure I'll be able to use it. I would really like to use OAv2 as the framework and build are so much more robust. Is this a capability in OAv2 or is there something in the works for this?

download script that I have scheduled on each computer to run every night (someone here on the forums posted this a while back and it's been awesome for OpenAudIT):

Code:
'Declare variables
Dim oXMLHTTP
Dim oStream
Dim WSHShell
Dim AuditFiles(1)
Dim objFile
Dim objRandom
Dim CleanupFiles(2)

'Input variables
OAURL = "http://www.OpenAuditServerURL.com/OpenAuditReleaseCandidate/"

AuditFiles(0)="audit.vbs"
AuditFiles(1)="list_export_config.php"

'Create Objects
Set WSHShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set objRandom = CreateObject( "System.Random" )

'Get Script folder
scriptFullName = WScript.ScriptFullName
TargetDir = Left ( scriptFullName, _
   InStrRev ( scriptFullName, WScript.ScriptName) - 1 )
   
'Retrieve Audit Files
For Each objFile in AuditFiles
   'Check if file exists and delete if possible
   If (fso.FileExists(TargetDir & objFile)) Then
      Set aFile = fso.GetFile(TargetDir & objFile)
      aFile.Delete
   End If
   Set oXMLHTTP = CreateObject("MSXML2.ServerXMLHTTP")
   oXMLHTTP.Open "GET", OAURL & "/" & objFile, False
   oXMLHTTP.setOption 2, 13056
   oXMLHTTP.Send
   If oXMLHTTP.Status = 200 Then
         'Try to download from root
         Set oStream = CreateObject("ADODB.Stream")
         oStream.Open
         oStream.Type = 1
         oStream.Write oXMLHTTP.responseBody
         oStream.SaveToFile TargetDir & objFile
         oStream.Close
   Else
      oXMLHTTP.Open "GET", OAURL & "/scripts/" & objFile, False
      oXMLHTTP.Send
      If oXMLHTTP.Status = 200 Then
            'Try to download from scripts folder
            Set oStream = CreateObject("ADODB.Stream")
            oStream.Open
            oStream.Type = 1
            oStream.Write oXMLHTTP.responseBody
            oStream.SaveToFile TargetDir & objFile
            oStream.Close
            Else
               'Error downloading, exiting script
               WScript.Quit(2)
      End If   
   End If
Next

'Check if file exists and delete if possible
If (fso.FileExists(TargetDir & "audit.config")) Then
      Set aFile = fso.GetFile(TargetDir & "audit.config")
      aFile.Delete
End If

'Rename php file to config
fso.MoveFile TargetDir & AuditFiles(1), TargetDir & "audit.config"

'Execute audit
WSHShell.Run "cscript """ & TargetDir & AuditFiles(0) & """", 2, true

'Cleanup
CleanupFiles(0)=TargetDir & "audit.config"
CleanupFiles(1)=TargetDir & AuditFiles(0)
CleanupFiles(2)=TargetDir & AuditFiles(1)
For Each objFile in CleanupFiles
   If (fso.FileExists(objFile)) Then
         Set aFile = fso.GetFile(objFile)
         aFile.Delete
   End If
Next

Author:  mwoodward [ Fri Feb 04, 2011 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

So how about multiple domain/forest support with different credentials for each ?
Is there any way to audit software and record how many times each/certain applications are used ?

Author:  STARAG [ Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Hi All

I've also got an Idea.

It is not possible to Delete Systems (Or I have not found it).

Whould this be possible?

Kind Regards

STARAG :-)

Author:  Mark [ Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: What do YOU need in OAv2 ?

Quote:
It is not possible to Delete Systems (Or I have not found it).

Open the details of the system and set the Status field.
Production, Retired, Deleted, Maintenance....

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/