Open-AudIT
http://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/

auditing a domain from a linux webserver
http://www.open-audit.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3243
Page 1 of 1

Author:  amendez [ Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:41 am ]
Post subject:  auditing a domain from a linux webserver

I have the following installation and need some help getting started. Any help would be great.

I have installed openaudit on centos5.2 . I have audited, manually , one windows computer. But I had to go to that computer and manually select from the webgui audit this pc.


The tutorial for auditing a domain is agreat start but leaves off by saying, run cscript audit.vbs. How do I run this from linux? Say i've configured by audit.config to my liking. What do I do next to start to inventory my systems.

Also, what is the purpose of nmap_linux.sh? audit_linux.sh etc.. I would like to get the process of inventory going.

thank you.

Also, are there any places I can look for log information?

Author:  Mark [ Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: auditing a domain from a linux webserver

audit.vbs must be run from a Windows machine (with Domain Admin credentials).
VBScript is a Microsoft technology that does not run on Linux.

OAv2 hopes to solve this issue and enable full auditing from a Linux machine.

The nmap_linux.sh is for scanning your network from your Linux machine.
There is a corresponding nmap.vbs for Windows.
The audit_linux.sh is for auditing your Linux machines.

Author:  amendez [ Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: auditing a domain from a linux webserver

Ok, so I am attempting to use a group policy to run audit.vbs on all my machines. In my testing enviornment; initially it runs and it and inventories to my server GREAT however if the audit.config file exists when the scripts runs a gain at boot, it gives a vbscript error

c:\scripts\audit.vbs
line 126
Expected statement
800a0400
vbscript erro compilation

Is this a known issue?

it only happens if audit.vbs has already ran and is being run again the the file audit.config is in the same directory. If remove it , the script runs again, but seems to hang because the account is already on the server.

please advise

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/