Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:11 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:41 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:25 am
Posts: 2
I have the following installation and need some help getting started. Any help would be great.

I have installed openaudit on centos5.2 . I have audited, manually , one windows computer. But I had to go to that computer and manually select from the webgui audit this pc.


The tutorial for auditing a domain is agreat start but leaves off by saying, run cscript audit.vbs. How do I run this from linux? Say i've configured by audit.config to my liking. What do I do next to start to inventory my systems.

Also, what is the purpose of nmap_linux.sh? audit_linux.sh etc.. I would like to get the process of inventory going.

thank you.

Also, are there any places I can look for log information?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
audit.vbs must be run from a Windows machine (with Domain Admin credentials).
VBScript is a Microsoft technology that does not run on Linux.

OAv2 hopes to solve this issue and enable full auditing from a Linux machine.

The nmap_linux.sh is for scanning your network from your Linux machine.
There is a corresponding nmap.vbs for Windows.
The audit_linux.sh is for auditing your Linux machines.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:59 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:25 am
Posts: 2
Ok, so I am attempting to use a group policy to run audit.vbs on all my machines. In my testing enviornment; initially it runs and it and inventories to my server GREAT however if the audit.config file exists when the scripts runs a gain at boot, it gives a vbscript error

c:\scripts\audit.vbs
line 126
Expected statement
800a0400
vbscript erro compilation

Is this a known issue?

it only happens if audit.vbs has already ran and is being run again the the file audit.config is in the same directory. If remove it , the script runs again, but seems to hang because the account is already on the server.

please advise


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group