Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:10 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 8:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:18 am
Posts: 6
Location: United Kingdom
It would appear that there is an issue when identifying (at least) Office 2010 (64-bit) license keys via audit_windows 1.8.2. We have compared the results of this against Belarc, which seems to correctly identify the things.

The issues I've noticed are that:

1) The version is identified incorrectly
2) The license key is identified incorrectly

As I say, Belarc is managing to identify it all correctly, but not Open-Audit.

Does anyone have any ideas, or experiencing this as well?

We're looking to use OA to manage our Windows PCs in the office, but this is a major sticking point ATM.

_________________
Colin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:19 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
The audit_windows.vbs script tries to decode the version info and key from the subkeys at "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Registration" and "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Registration". It uses a the lookup table around line 7297 in the script.

The current script will find 32bit Office installed on a 32bit or 64bit machine when run from a 32bit cscript. We don't have 64bit Office installed here so I'm not sure what the registry keys look like. Given that I don't think a 32bit cscript audit will find 64bit Office.

It all depends on the registry keys above. Review yours and see what's happening. Don't post them as they probably contain your MAK key.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:40 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:18 am
Posts: 6
Location: United Kingdom
Hi,

It's using the right registry keys as far as I can tell...

Identifying the wrong version of Office I can live with (mainly) but the wrong product key is an issue.

I have found that https://code.google.com/p/msoffice-prod ... decoder.py will conveniently, correctly identify the product key for the Office Product installed; which is the same as the one Belarc says but different from audit_windows.vbs

_________________
Colin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 4:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
OA works for me decoding our 32bit Office 2010 MAK. How is OpenAudit getting your Office version wrong? Wrong edition? Old version? Obviously OpenAudit is doing something wrong but it's hard to tell from your post. What do you get in the "<software_keys>" section of you audit file? Does anything look good in there?

Code:
cscript audit_windows.vbs submit_online=n create_file=y


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Please also read https://community.opmantek.com/display/OA/Information+about+software+keys and make sure what you are seeing in Belarc is _actually_ the CD/Product Key.
FYI - If the product is using a Volume License Key no product can retrieve it -at all. Again, please see the wiki article.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 4:04 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
So, maybe not so obvious that OpenAudit isn't getting it correct unless you do find the Belarc stuff is the proper key.

OpenAudit will find the volume license key for a MAK key activated Office 2010 installation but not a KMS activated one. So it's not as hopeless as Mark indicates; at least in my experience. We have MAK activated Office 2010 and the key OpenAudit retrieves is identical to our Open Value key I used to activate Office.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 7:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:18 am
Posts: 6
Location: United Kingdom
I double-checked with the COA and the one Belarc is finding is correct and it's correctly identifying it as Home & Business 2010; likewise the Python script I posted is finding the same one as Belarc (but gets the product wrong) - the only thing that is not finding it correctly is audit_windows.vbs which gets both the key and the software type wrong.

Therefore, it would definitely imply that it's a problem in the audit_windows.vbs script...

_________________
Colin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:06 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:18 am
Posts: 6
Location: United Kingdom
SO, if I comment out the lines about "isWin8" then it seems to work fine on my Windows 7 machine...

_________________
Colin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:28 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1226
jpa hack and slash of bottom decoder here.

What does this give you?

Attachment:
audit_windows.txt [350.95 KiB]
Downloaded 88 times


Script needs to be updated and tested against just-released versions of Windows and Office.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:18 am
Posts: 6
Location: United Kingdom
I'll take a look at that when I have 5-10 mins spare...

_________________
Colin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group