Registrations to Open-AudIT forums are now closed. To ask any new questions please visit Opmantek Community Questions.

Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 11:24 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:43 am 

Hi, hope someone can help.

I've been using OpenAudit for a few months now to keep track of things and it's been doing a great job.

Recently I've noticed that it is listing installs for more than one version of things like Java and Flash, which are of course updated fairly regularly, but when I go to the PC I cannot see the older versions installed anywhere and so wonder where OpenAudit is getting it's info from. I've trawled through the uninstall section of the registry but can only find the most recent version listed there.

Can anyone shed any light on where OA looks when it compiles it's list of software and updates?

Thanks,
Mark

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:44 pm 

I had the same Problem.
But if OpenAudit finds something about old Java versions its still something in the System.
So far I know, OpenAudit gets its Information out of the WMI.

If you realy want to delete all the Java Rests from previos versions use JavaRA.
It removes everything that has something to do with Java till Version 7u21.

http://singularlabs.com/software/javara ... -download/

After that you should look what OpenAudit says about old Java Versions.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:42 pm 

Thanks for the reply. I've come across JavaRA before and it has problems recognising when Java has been installed by Group Policy and so fails to uninstall it. Also, quite a few of my machines are remote so while I can get to their registrys or file shares fairly easily, connecting to them to run a program is much trickier.