Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:20 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:39 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:22 am
Posts: 16
I wrote a custom report that we need for state requirements that has things like memory, cpu type, desktop/laptop, etc. One of the things asked for in the state report is video resolution. My report has blanks in it, and upon digging in the SQL database, there isn't anything in the video_current_horizontal_res or vertical_res columns on any system. I have video_description, _manufacture, _memory but none of the other fields are populated. I'm assuming my audit.vbs is not collecting/sending it but unsure how to troubleshoot which it is. More than happy to attach any of my docs/scripts.

Running OAv2 XAMPPlite on a Windows 2008r2 server with MySQL 5.1.4.1. Attached is my default audit vbs.


Attachments:
OA2audit.vbs.txt [242.8 KiB]
Downloaded 94 times

_________________
Server Info: OpenAudit v 1.0.3
OS : Windows 2008 r2
Auditing: 5000+ machines (Public School District)
LDAP: Active Directory
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:02 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1223
The attached script is from the old version of OpenAudit which is no longer maintained. Your problem description also indicates you're using the older OpenAudit.

That said configure your audit.config file with keep_audit_log = "y" and view the resulting computername.txt output file. What do you have for the line beginning with video^^^?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:54 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:22 am
Posts: 16
I'm showing v 1.0 on the home page after logging in. I upgraded after the opmantek changeover.

The filename might be misleading. I had a group policy that worked and don't like fixing things that aren't broke....

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''
' Video Information '
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''
comment = "Video Info"
Echo(comment)
On Error Resume Next
Set colItems = objWMIService.ExecQuery("Select * from Win32_VideoController",,48)
For Each objItem in colItems
If (Instr(objItem.Caption, "vnc") = 0 AND Instr(objItem.Caption, "Innobec SideWindow") = 0) then
LeftString = Left(objItem.DriverDate, 8)
form_input = "video^^^" & int(objItem.AdapterRAM / 1024 / 1024) & "^^^" _
& clean(objItem.Caption) & "^^^" & clean(objItem.CurrentHorizontalResolution) & "^^^" _
& clean(objItem.CurrentNumberOfColors) & "^^^" & clean(objItem.CurrentRefreshRate) & "^^^" _
& clean(objItem.CurrentVerticalResolution) & "^^^" & clean(objItem.Description) & "^^^" _
& Left(LeftString, 4) & "/" & Mid(LeftString, 5, 2) & "/" & Right(LeftString, 2) & "^^^" _
& clean(objItem.DriverVersion) & "^^^" & clean(objItem.MaxRefreshRate) & "^^^" _
& clean(objItem.MinRefreshRate) & "^^^" & clean(objItem.DeviceID) & "^^^"
entry form_input,comment,objTextFile,oAdd,oComment
form_input = ""
if online = "p" then
oIE.document.WriteLn "<tr bgcolor=""#F1F1F1""><td>Video Card: </td><td>" & clean(objItem.Caption) & " mb</td></tr>"
oIE.document.WriteLn "<tr><td>Video Memory: </td><td>" & int(objItem.AdapterRAM / 1024 / 1024) & "</td></tr>"
oIE.document.WriteLn "<tr bgcolor=""#F1F1F1""><td>Video Driver Date: </td><td>" & Left(LeftString, 4) & "/" & Mid(LeftString, 5, 2) & "/" & Right(LeftString, 2) & "</td></tr>"
oIE.document.WriteLn "<tr><td>Video Driver Version: </td><td>" & clean(objItem.DriverVersion) & "</td></tr>"
end if
end if
Next


When I do a WMIC query, the data is there, just not making it into the DB. I'll make the change in my audit.config and see what happens.

_________________
Server Info: OpenAudit v 1.0.3
OS : Windows 2008 r2
Auditing: 5000+ machines (Public School District)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:09 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:22 am
Posts: 16
Is there a more current audit.vbs that I can download? I would love to have one that didn't throw errors on any computer with mysql installed.

_________________
Server Info: OpenAudit v 1.0.3
OS : Windows 2008 r2
Auditing: 5000+ machines (Public School District)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:35 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1223
Woops. You're right. I don't have that information in my new OpenAudit DB either. I'll try to see why that is.

But the audit file you attached is for the old OpenAudit and not what you're using to audit in the latest version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:46 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1223
Reviewing the latest audit script I see that the info is no longer audited by OpenAudit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
JPA is correct - your audit script is from an old version of Open-AudIT. If you are using the newer version, this script will create a result but the server will not process it. The new results are XML formatted.

If you are actually using the new version, I'd suggest you update to the very latest (v1.0.3 as at this post).

Display resolution is a user attribute (different users on the same PC can use different resolutions), therefore we do not collect it any more. We don't collect any 'user' attributes (mapped drives, etc). We do now collect some extra fields for your monitors though - size and aspect ratio. Here's the resulting section from my laptop.

Code:
<monitors>
   <monitor>
      <manufacturer>Samsung</manufacturer>
      <device_id>344C</device_id>
      <manufacture_date>01/2008</manufacture_date>
      <model>Generic PNP Monitor</model>
      <serial>Serial Number Not Found in EDID data</serial>
      <edid_version>1.3</edid_version>
      <aspect_ratio>16:10</aspect_ratio>
      <size>15.9</size>
   </monitor>
</monitors>

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
cmcd2820 wrote:
Is there a more current audit.vbs that I can download? I would love to have one that didn't throw errors on any computer with mysql installed.

"audit.vbs" is an outdated file. The current audit script is "audit_windows.vbs". Seem's like you are using an unsupported, outdated and old version of Open-AudIT. I'd suggest you install the latest version from http://www.open-audit.org/downloads.

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:21 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:22 am
Posts: 16
Where are the upgrade instructions for going from an XAMPPLite v1.0 to v1.0.3? I tried the upgrade.txt steps in the open-audit folder and it didn't do well, so I reverted back to 1.0. Since my DB is current can't I just stop the Apache service and copy a folder over like we used ta do prior to v1.0?

**EDIT**

For example, I downloaded 1.0.3 and in the upgrade.txt it has this:
UPGRADE YOUR DATABASE
Linux and Windows.
Log on to the web interface as admin and go to Help -> About. Upgrade the database.


But when I do the upgrade and go to Help -> About there is no "Upgrade" for the database. Also, my version still has 1.0 and the_version is still 20130512 on the Edit Config page.

Here is my "About" page:

You are running version 1.0 of Open-AudIT.
Your Host is: OPENAUDIT, and it's OS is Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard.
Your database platform is mysql (version 5.1.41).
Your web server is Apache/2.2.14 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.14 OpenSSL/0.9.8l mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.3.1 .


I'm soooo confused....

_________________
Server Info: OpenAudit v 1.0.3
OS : Windows 2008 r2
Auditing: 5000+ machines (Public School District)
LDAP: Active Directory


Last edited by cmcd2820 on Thu Aug 22, 2013 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:36 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:22 am
Posts: 16
Just realized I posted the old audit.vbs from my old server (pre v1.0)

Here is the current one I was using.

DOH!


Attachments:
audit.zip [50.92 KiB]
Downloaded 88 times

_________________
Server Info: OpenAudit v 1.0.3
OS : Windows 2008 r2
Auditing: 5000+ machines (Public School District)
LDAP: Active Directory
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group