Open-AudIT

What's on your network?
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:56 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OA2 - Alpha2 - Feedback
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:15 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
Just a couple of quick things while testing the new Alpha.

1) *Update* Number One was fixed in the post below. My Bad. *End Update* (I do not believe the theme for OAv2a2 is PHP 5.3 compliant. I attached a picture of what it looks like when run in PHP 5.3. It works well in PHP 5.2.9.)

Attachment:
php531.jpg
php531.jpg [ 47.39 KiB | Viewed 3124 times ]


I think the back end works ok in PHP 5.3 just not the theme. Though I need to dig in to that a little more.

2) The if statement in audit_domain.vbs to check if you are filtering your audit by operating system:

if ((operating_system > "") AND (instr(computer_os, operating_system) > 0)) then
pc_array(count) = strcomputer ' feed computers into array
count = count + 1
end if

Always fails if you leave the operating_system value blank.

3) It still consumes a large amount of php memory. I had it run out on me a couple of times at 128M. I upped it to 256M and I haven't had a problem yet.

4) It also seems that when I add a group it does not seem to save the "Category"

5) If I use IE8 (which is almost never) it keeps logging me out.

I am sure that I will find more issues, but hey what is an Alpha for.

Keep up the good work!!!!!!!

-Shmee

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Last edited by Shmee on Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:15 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 8:27 am
Posts: 1225
I think your screenshot is illustrative of what happens when you have short_open_tags=off in your php config (which is the default.) I should have included that detail in my very terse report here. Or it's a 5.3 problem as you've said. I don't have 5.3 configured yet to check.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:21 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
Hey nice catch, I should have checked for that. I will edit my feedback post.

Though not an issue so much as a *Very Nice to Have* I have noticed that there is not a search, which I use all the time in OAv1.

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Have fixed the short tags issue.

I _think_ I've fixed the OS issue in Domain Audit - will check tomorrow.

Search is "on the list" !

Yep, it still consumes memory. When I run the "list scan" for about 300 servers, the memory consumed by Apache on my Windows XP machine can get up to 900MB. After the scans have finished it dies back down again.

Yep - do not alter or add groups at the moment. It's on the ASAP list.

Interesting about IE8. Do you have an approximate timeframe it takes to log you out ?

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:06 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
Not long, just a couple of page clicks it seems like. So maybe 30 seconds.

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 2:25 am 
Offline
Helper

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am
Posts: 67
Location: Washington State, USA
Another thing I have found.

It doesn't seem to be grabbing the License Keys for Office 2007 and up.

_________________
Server Info:
OA: v1.0.3
OS: Ubuntu 13.04 on Hyper-V for Website (LAMP)
OS: Windows Server 2008 R2 for Script (Domain Server)
Auditing: 366 Machines (XP/Win7/Ubuntu)
LDAP: Active Directory


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 10:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:41 am
Posts: 19
Mark,

You said that Search is on the list. I have been doing some researching on what is being used now "TableSorter" and it does have a search feature which I was able to add and test and it is fairly easy to add to the current views. Could we get rid of html tables all together and use json? Switch from html tables to JSON. HTML tables are very limited, if you make the switch to json the possibilities will be endless as there are numerous js libraries and plugins based off of jquery that have very strong table capabilities. http://www.cnn.com/interactive/2009/06/ ... index.html here is an example of the Prototype as seen on the cnn site. I realize that even the protools solution won't solve the problem of too many records being retrieved at once. The protools nor the TableSorter are meant for thousands of db records as there will be long page loads and timeouts the more data there is to display. I can make some suggestions that will give you nice search capabilities by using php + javascript libraries to solve problems such as queries taking too long/timing out and all the search, filter features you could possibly need. Here is a demo of a library called Jqgrid. http://trirand.com/blog/jqgrid/jqgrid.html

ExtJS also has similar if not more powerful grid examples http://www.extjs.com/products/js/?ref=l ... bluebutton -> click on Grids section to view the demos

Both of these solutions are kept up to date rather frequently.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 8:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 11:48 am
Posts: 1933
Location: Brisbane, Australia
The views are simply supplied the data in PHP arrays.

We can do whatever we like with this data from that point onwards - HTML Tables, JSON, whatever.
I'd like to see other "theme's" created. There is the ability to do this already in code. A user has a "theme" attribute. I'd really like to see a theme based on EXTjs - that looks really nice...

_________________
Support and Development hours available from Opmantek.
Please consider a purchase to help make Open-AudIT better for everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group